Sun down Power: 8-4 final in opener

WV drops game one of short road swing through Hagerstown

By WV Power Media Relations / West Virginia Power | July 15, 2014 10:22 PM ET

(Hagerstown, MD- July 15, 2014)-  The West Virginia Power lost an 8-4 decision against Hagerstown Suns at Municipal Stadium on Tuesday evening. Hagerstown jumped to an early lead before breaking the game open with five runs between the sixth and seventh innings to take the series opener with West Virginia.

The Suns struck first with two runs in the bottom of the first inning off Power starting pitcher Justin Topa. Spencer Kieboom and John Wooten reached on run-scoring singles. West Virginia answered with a pair of runs in the top of the second on a double by Jeff Roy to even the scored at two.

In the home half of the second, Wilmer Difo singled in David Masters for a 3-2 Hagerstown lead. The Suns held that edge until a three-run sixth inning before adding two in the seventh for an 8-2 advantage. In the top of the eighth, Danny Collins drove in Reese McGuire with a sacrifice fly. In the ninth, Michael Fransoso closed the scoring with a solo home run.

Topa (3-7) took the loss after allowing three runs over five innings. Brett Mooneyham (2-0) earned the win in relief of Suns starter Wirkin Estevez. JaCoby Jones went 1-4 with a walk and extended his hitting streak to 16 straight games. Austin Meadows and McGuire added two hits each for the Power.

West Virginia and Hagerstown play the second of this three game series on Wednesday at 7:05 pm. Cody Dickson is slated to start for the Power against the Suns Hector Silvestre at Municipal Stadium.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More