Celebrity Softball Game benefits Michael Young Family Foundation

Michael Young and David Murphy to serve as captains, Ticket's BaD Radio to play

By Frisco RoughRiders | June 14, 2017 12:28 PM ET

FRISCO, Texas (June 14, 2017) - The Frisco RoughRiders are proud to announce that the Michael Young Family Foundation is the beneficiary of the Celebrity Softball Game presented by SportsRadio 1310/96.7 FM The Ticket during festivities for the 81st Texas League All-Star Game presented by McAfee on Tuesday, June 27 at Dr Pepper Ballpark.

The Celebrity Softball Game, with teams captained by former Texas Rangers fan favorites Michael Young and David Murphy, includes professional athletes with ties to Dallas-Fort Worth and local media celebrities. Along the confirmed participants are former Major League players Benji Gil, Kevin Mench, Jose Guzman, Mike Adams , Ryan Drese, Jeff Frye, German Duran, Mark Brandenburg, Tim Crabtree and Steve Kent; former NFL players Willie Pile and Michael Kiselak; former NBA player Greg Buckner; Bob Sturm, Dan McDowell and Jake Kemp from The Ticket; Fort Worth Star-Telegram columnist Mac Engel, DJSC (Exclusive DJ of the Dallas Cowboys) and RoughRiders Ambassador of Fun Michael Gruber.

There's also an opportunity for fans to play in the Celebrity Softball Game, with two spots available for auction via the DASH (Digital Auction Showdown) app. The auctioned roster spots include a Celebrity Softball Game jersey, and an autograph and picture with Michael Young.

The Celebrity Softball Game is part of the festivities leading up the Texas League All-Star Game on June 27. Gates to Dr Pepper Ballpark open at 3:30 p.m. for the All-Star Game FanFest presented by Texas Mahindra Dealers and Sephora. FanFest features live entertainment from Dallas-based country singer/songwriter Adrian Johnston. Fans can also collect All-Star player autographs and watch batting practice. Inflatables and other activities will be available for kids.

The Celebrity Softball Game is set for 5:15 p.m. followed by first pitch of the Texas League All-Star Game at 7:05 p.m. Following the All-Star Game, fans are invited to enjoy fireworks presented by Park Place Lexus.

Plenty of tickets remain, starting as low as $7, for the Texas League All-Star Game at RidersBaseball.com, (972) 731-9200 and the RoughRiders Ticket Office.

The Texas League All-Star Game, hosted by the RoughRiders for the third time, will pit the top prospects from the league's North and South divisions. The South will be represented by the RoughRiders (Texas Rangers), Corpus Christi Hooks (Houston Astros), Midland RockHounds (Oakland Athletics) and San Antonio Missions (San Diego Padres). The North will feature the Arkansas Travelers (Seattle Mariners), Northwest Arkansas Naturals (Kansas City Royals), Springfield Cardinals (St. Louis Cardinals) and Tulsa Drillers (Los Angeles Dodgers).

Recent standout players from the Texas League All-Star Game include current Rangers Elvis Andrus, Martin Perez and Ryan Rua, as well as some of baseball's great young stars, such as Mike Trout, Nolan Arenado, George Springer and Mike Moustakas. The RoughRiders had seven players selected to the All-Star Game last season with outfielder Ryan Cordell claiming MVP honors.

About the Michael Young Family Foundation

The Michael Young Family Foundation was established in 2011 and dedicated to improving the physical, social, mental, and educational health of children, both domestic and international.

About the RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 12 seasons (2005-2016). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing nearly $8 million in a wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including a new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The upgrades made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco "Best Ballpark Renovation" of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. The same publication also honored the Choctaw Lazy River as the best ballpark improvement over $1 million for the 2016 season. More than 140 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler and Nelson Cruz, as well as current Rangers stars Elvis Andrus, Rougned Odor and Nomar Mazara. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit RidersBaseball.com or contact Art Garcia at AGarcia@RidersBaseball.com or Ryan Rouillard at RRouillard@RidersBaseball.com.

View More