Anthony Ranaudo promoted to Triple-A Pawtucket

Three Opening Day starters have been promoted this year

(Photo courtesy of Sitting Still Photography)

By Portland Sea Dogs | August 2, 2013 1:10 PM ET

The Portland Sea Dogs and Boston Red Sox have announced that right-hander Anthony Ranaudo has been promoted to Triple-A Pawtucket. Ranaudo joins Opening Day starters Drake Britton and Brandon Workman to earn a promotion this season. Lefty Chris Hernandez has been assigned from Triple-A Pawtucket to fill out the 25-man roster.

Ranaudo leaves the Sea Dogs with the third best ERA in the Eastern League at 2.90 (36 ER/109.2 IP), going 8-5 in 19 starts. The righty went 9-7, 3.91 ERA (64 ER/147.1 IP) in 28 career starts in Double-A.

The former standout at LSU is ranked the #6 pitching prospect in the Red Sox system and the 14th overall according to Baseball America. Ranaudo went 6-1, 1.48 ERA (9 ER/54.2 IP) in his first 10 starts of the season

On June 13th vs. Erie at Hadlock Field, Ranaudo recorded 13 strikeouts (career-high) in 7.2 innings pitched (also a career high), tying a franchise record - last done by Jon Lester in 2005.

Ranaudo was named an Eastern League All-Star and pitched in the Future's Game at Citi Field. The righty hails from Jackson, NJ and was born in Freehold, NJ - Bruce Springsteen's hometown.

Hernandez went 3-9, 5.72 ERA (65 ER/102.1 IP) in 24 games/16 starts with the PawSox this season. The 24-year old lefty was a seventh round pick by the Red Sox in the 2010 draft out of the University of Miami. Last season, Hernandez went a combined 5-12, 3.26 ERA (53 ER/146.1 IP) in 26 games/25 starts between Portland and Pawtucket.

In 18 starts with Portland in 2012, Hernandez went 4-8, but had a 3.18 ERA (36 ER/103.2 IP). He made his Triple-A debut on July 22, 2012 at Louisville, going six strong innings on seven hits and two runs. He finished the season going 1-4, 3.59 ERA (17 ER/42.2 IP) with Pawtucket.

The Sea Dogs have had 13 players promoted to Pawtucket this season: OF Ronald Bermudez, INF Xander Bogaerts, Britton, INF/OF Ryan Dent, RHP Charlie Haeger, RHP Brock Huntzinger, RHP Jeremy Kehrt, LHP Will Latimer, OF J.C. Linares, RHP Chris Martin, Ranaudo, C Alberto Rosario and Workman.  

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More