Avista Named NWL Field of the Year

Indians win award for unprecedented 15th time in 17 seasons

Avista Stadium's field has been honored nine years in a row. (James Snook)

By Dustin Toms / Spokane Indians | September 10, 2013 8:25 AM ET

SPOKANE, Wash. - The Northwest League announced that Avista Stadium has been named the 2013 NWL Field of the Year. Spokane has now won the award nine years in a row and 15 of the past 17 seasons.

"Winning this award is a great honor," said Indians Head Groundskeeper Trevor Heilman. "Our crew worked hard this season to uphold and maintain the best field possible for players, coaches and the fans."

The award is given annually to the team that has the best playing surface and maintains the highest quality field throughout the 76-game season as voted on by Northwest League managers and coaches.

Competition grew tougher this season, as the Hillsboro Hops opened up a brand new facility with a new playing surface. However, the dedication put forth by Heilman's crew helped keep the award at home. It's also good to point out that Avista Stadium's field has remained unchanged since the site was erected in three months in 1958, a compliment in itself for the Spokane groundscrew.

In addition to the NWL Field of the Year, Heilman will also be eligible for the Short Season 'A' Sports Turf Manager of the Year award, which will be announced at the 2013 Winter Meetings.

The Spokane Indians would like to thank all of our fans for their support this season. The Indians are the Short Season Class "A" affiliate for the Texas Rangers. Reserve your 2014 seats today by calling the Avista Stadium Ticket Office at (509) 343-OTTO (6886).

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More