Avista Stadium Named Field of the Year

Spokane's Playing Surface Reigns Supreme for 12th Straight Season

By Spokane Indians | October 5, 2016 10:00 PM ET

SPOKANE, WA - The Northwest League announced this week that Avista Stadium has been named the 2016 NWL Field of the Year. Spokane has now won the award 12 consecutive years and 18 of the past 20 seasons.

"It's a great honor for Avista Stadium to receive this award again and a real testament to the continued excellence of our grounds crew," said Spokane Indians General Manager, Chris Duff. "We begin every season with the goal of winning Field of the Year, and look forward to the challenge of making it 13 in a row in 2017."

The award is given annually to the team that has the best playing surface and maintains the highest quality field throughout the 76-game season as voted on by Northwest League managers and coaches. Avista Stadium's field has remained largely unchanged since the facility was built in 1958, a compliment to the dedication and hard work of the Indians grounds crew of both present and past.

With the award, Head Groundskeeper, Danny Ramirez, is now one of 16 candidates for Minor League Baseball's Sports Turf Manager of the Year, which will be announced at the 2016 Winter Meetings.

About the Indians
The Indians are the Short Season Class "A" affiliate for the Texas Rangers. For more information, please visit www.spokaneindians.com or call (509) 343-6886 (OTTO)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More