Indians Offense Explodes in 10-4 Home Finale Victory

Spokane Indians players tip their hats to the Avista Stadium crowd after their final home game.

By Bud Bareither / Spokane Indians | August 26, 2012 4:39 PM ET

Spokane, WA - A packed house at Avista Stadium couldn't have asked for a better performance from the Spokane Indians in their final home game of the 2012 season. Starter John Kukuruda pitched six solid innings and was backed up by a breakout performance from the Spokane offense as the Indians defeated the Volcanoes 10-4 in front of 6,074 fans for Season Finale Fireworks presented by AAA, KREM 2-TV, and 98.9 KKZX.

Salem-Keizer jumped on Kukuruda early, scoring twice in the game's first two innings, but Spokane answered with a pair of home runs in the bottom of the second. Brawny slugger Joey Gallo cranked his fourth longball with the Indians over the Xfinity sign in right field and Joe Maloney followed with an opposite field shot over The Black Book Depot to tie the game. The Indians offense was off to the races after that inning, scoring once again in the fourth and five times in the fifth to put the game out of reach.

Kukuruda (3-4) settled down after a rocky start, allowing just one earned run over the next five frames while finishing with four strikeouts. Southpaw Joseph Burns was effective in relief, striking out a pair in two innings of scoreless relief and Ryan Harvey kept the Volcanoes off the board in the ninth to close out the game.

Royce Bolinger and Jake Skole each picked up two hits to lead the Indians attack while eight different Spokane players notched at least one RBI in the win.

The Spokane Indians are the Short Season Class "A" affiliate for the two-time defending American League Champion Texas Rangers. Season Tickets for the 2013 season are now on sale with plans starting as low as $63. Reserve your seats today by calling (509) 343-OTTO (6886). Fans can also purchase tickets at the Ticket Office at Avista Stadium during regular business hours or anytime by visiting

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More