Spokane Indians, Texas Rangers Extend PDC

Indians to remain affiliate for the Rangers through the 2018 season

By Spokane Indians | August 27, 2016 6:19 PM ET

Spokane, WA - The Spokane Indians announced today that they have reached an agreement on a two-year Player Development Contract with the Texas Rangers, keeping the Indians as the Short Season "A" affiliate of the Rangers through the 2018 season.

"We are happy to extend our relationship with the Texas Rangers," said Indians General Manager, Chris Duff. "The last 14 years have been some of the most successful in team history and we look forward to what the future holds for both the Indians and the Rangers."

In the 14 seasons that the Indians and Rangers have been affiliated, Spokane has won three Northwest League Championships (2003, 2005, and 2008) and led the league in attendance 13 times. Since the 2003 season, 67 former Indians have made it to the Major Leagues, including All-Stars Ian Kinsler, Odubel Herrera, and Neftali Feliz and emerging young players like Jurickson Profar and Rougned Odor.

The affiliation - which will reach 16 straight seasons in 2018 - is set to become the longest in franchise history, eclipsing the 15 consecutive years the Indians were affiliated with the Dodgers from 1958-1972.

"We are excited to continue our partnership with the Spokane Indians," said Mike Daly, Senior Director of Minor League Operations for Texas. "We consider ourselves fortunate to have the future of the Rangers developing in front of the big crowds and great facilities in Spokane and we're proud of our relationship with the community."

The Indians are currently in their quest to capture a fourth NWL Championship while being affiliated with Texas. The team has already clinched a playoff spot and will host Game 2 of the North Divisional Round on Thursday, September 8. Tickets are still available by calling the Avista Stadium Ticket Office at (509) 343-OTTO (6886).

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More