Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
High-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Spokane Indians Spokane Indians

Indians Nominated For MiLB Game of the Year

Fans can vote for Spokane's combined 11-inning no-hitter
October 13, 2014

Spokane, WA - The Spokane Indians' combined 11-inning no-hitter on August 10, has been nominated for 2014 Minor League Baseball's Game of the Year. Starting pitcher Derek Thompson and relievers Shane McCain, Adam Parks and Luis Pollorena struck out a combined 14 AquaSox batters during the pitching gem. Catcher Chuck Moorman called the game behind the plate.

Fans can vote for the Indians to win the award by following clicking here and selecting the Categorie "Game of the Year." Voting is open through October 23, with winners being announced during the week of October 23-31.

Thomspon tossed five innings, striking out five to get things going. McCain was on the mound for a season-high three innings, retiring all nine batters faced. Parks picked up the win by collecting three strikeouts in two innings. Pollorena earned the save pitching the final frame. Right fielder Luke Tendler hit a go-ahead three-run home run in the top of the 11th to give the Indians the 3-0 victory.


Former Spokane Indian Joey Gallo (2013) was also nominated for Top Offensive Player of the Year and Top Home Run. The slugging third baseman hit 42 home runs this season making a strong case to put himself in consideration for the top prospect in all of baseball.

The Texas Rangers were also nominated for Best Farm System in the minors. The Rangers had the highest winning percentage in the Minors, posting a .565 mark thanks to a 470-362 record amongst all clubs.


About the Indians

The Indians are the Short Season Class "A" affiliate for the Texas Rangers. Ticket Packages and Group Areas for the 2015 Spokane Indians season are now available! Click here to view the 2015 schedule. For more information, please visit or call (509) 343-6886 (OTTO). Parking at all Spokane Indians games is FREE!

The Spokane Indians are hosting the 2015 All-Star Game, between the Northwest League and Pioneer League, at Avista Stadium on Tuesday, August 4, 2015