17 Omaha Alums To Play In WBC

World Baseball Classic Tournament begins on March 6

By Andrew Green / Omaha Storm Chasers | February 9, 2017 10:36 AM ET

A total of 17 Omaha alums will participate in the 2017 World Baseball Classic, with the rosters for all teams announced on MLB Network on Wednesday evening. The list includes current Kansas City Royals players Danny Duffy and Eric Hosmer (USA), along with Salvador Perez (Venezuela). Four members of the Storm Chasers' 2016 roster are also set to participate.

Australia (3) Year(s)   Puerto Rico (4) Year(s)
Allan de San Miguel 2016   Carlos Beltran 2000
Peter Moylan 2016   Rey Fuentes 2015-16
Liam Hendriks 2014   Mike Aviles 2006-08, 10-11
      Mario Santiago 2011
Canada (1) Year(s)      
Jamie Romak 2012   Italy (0) Year(s)
China (1) Year(s)   Israel (1) Year(s)
Bruce Chen 2009-11, 14   Cody Decker 2016
Chinese Tapei (0) Year(s)   Japan (0) Year(s)
Colombia (2) Year(s)   Netherlands (1) Year(s)
Sugar Ray Marimon 2014   J.C. Sulbaran 2015
Yohan Pino 2015      
      South Korea (0) Year(s)
Cuba (0) Year(s)      
      USA (2) Year(s)
Dominican Republic (0) Year(s)   Danny Duffy 2011. 13-15
      Eric Hosmer 2011, 14
Mexico (1) Year(s)      
Luis Mendoza 2010-11   Venezuela (1) Year(s)
      Salvador Perez 2011-12

Puerto Rico boasts the most Omaha alums with four, with careers spanning from the 2000 Omaha Royals (Carlos Beltran) to last year's squad in Rey Fuentes. Australia's roster includes three Storm Chasers, featuring a pair of 2016 Omaha players in Allan de San Miguel and Peter Moylan, while Colombia and the United States rosters also list multiple Omaha alums.

Of the 16 nations that will participate in the WBC, ten feature are least one Omaha alum. It should be noted those numbers do not include 2011-14 Storm Chasers infielder Johnny Giavotella, who reportedly committed to play for Italy but was not listed on Italy's announced roster on Wednesday evening.

The 16 teams are split into four separate pools, with pool play beginning on March 6.

Pool A (March 6-10 in Seoul, South Korea)   Pool B (March 7-11 in Tokyo, Japan)
Chinese Taipei   Australia
Israel   China
Netherlands   Cuba
South Korea   Japan
Pool C (March 9-13 in Miami, Florida)   Pool D (March 9-13 in Jalisco, Mexico)
Canada   Italy
Colombia   Mexico
Dominican Republic   Puerto Rico
United States   Venezuela


The matchups will be broadcast on MLB Network. The top two teams from Pool A and Pool B will then face off in a round-robin format in the Second Round in Tokyo, Japan, while the top two squads from Pool C and Pool D will battle in a round-robin format in the Second Round in San Diego, California.

The winner and runner-up from each Second Round site will then advance to a single-elimination Championship Round at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles. The Championship Game is set for Wednesday, March 22 at Chavez Ravine.

Click here for more information on the WBC rosters, which feature 63 Major League All-Stars.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More