T-Yanks Win One on Fan Appreciation Night

Gary Sanchez was 2-3 with two RBI. (Mark LoMoglio)

By Jeremy Ventura & Jessica Lack | August 25, 2012 7:44 PM ET

Tampa, Fla. - The Tampa Yankees (33-27) wrapped up their regular season tonight with a double header against the Daytona Cubs (25-34). It was Fan Appreciation Night and the fans watched the Yankees win game one 3-2, but fell just short with a 4-1 loss in the second game. Zachary Nuding (8-3, 3.57 ERA) got the start in game one for Tampa and faced Daytona's Eduardo Figuero (3-4, 2.78 ERA). In game two Caleb Cotham (2-5, 4.25 ERA) took the ball for Tampa and Ryan Searle (6-3, 4.61 ERA) got the start for Daytona.

Game one was scoreless until the top of the fourth. Ronald Torreyes led off with a double, moved to third on a deep fly ball, and came in to score on a ground out. The Yankees came back to take the lead in the top of the fifth when three walks loaded the bases and Gary Sanchez delivered a single to score two runs. Two more walks in the inning would lead to Tampa's third run and they had a 3-1 lead.

Daytona added a run in the top of the sixth, but it would not be enough and the game would end 3-2. Nuding picked up his eighth victory on the year tossing 5.2 innings only giving up two runs while striking out two.

Tampa struck first in game two with one run in the bottom of the third. Yadil Mujica led off the inning with a triple and came around to score on a Slade Heathcott single. Daytona put up two runs in the top of the fourth to take the lead. John Andreoli led off with a double and Torreyes singled to put the Cubs on the board. After a ground out and a single, Daytona had runners on the corners. Nelson Perez hit a sacrifice fly to give the Cubs a 2-1 lead. Daytona added two more runs in the top of the sixth and walked away with a 4-1 win.

The Tampa Yankees are on the road for the remainder of the season and are in a playoff battle with three other teams in the FSL North. Stay updated on tybaseball.com.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More