The American Baseball Championship at Spectrum Field

Post-Season Tournament Returns to Clearwater May 23-28

The UConn Huskies take on the Houston Cougars during the 2016 American Athletic Conference Baseball Championship at Bright House Field in Clearwater, FL on Sunday May 29, 2016. (Ben Solomon/American Athletic Conference) (Ben Solomon)

By Clearwater Threshers | April 27, 2017 11:44 AM ET

The American Athletic Conference Championship Central

The American Athletic Baseball Championship returns to Clearwater this May, as the teams battle it out for a bid to the NCAA tournament from May 23 to May 28 at Spectrum Field.

All eight teams in the American Athletic Conference will face off in a double-elimination format, with the winner receiving an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. This will be the fourth-straight year that Spectrum Field will play host to the American Championship, after previously hosting the Big East Conference Championship for seven of the previous eight years.

The University of Connecticut emerged as last year's winner, knocking off Houston in the Championship game, 7-2.

Three American Athletic Conference teams reached the NCAA tournament last season in Tulane, UConn and East Carolina. Tulane took earned the regular-season championship after going 15-7, while UConn won the conference tournament. The American has had seven NCAA tournament bids in the last two seasons.

The format is double-elimination, meaning once a team has lost two games in the tournament, they will be eliminated. The final two remaining teams will square off for the American Championship on Sunday, May 28 on ESPNU.

Suites are available for daily or full tournament rental - please contact Doug Kemp for details at 727-712-4316.

Tickets are available walk-up at Spectrum Field or by calling the box office at 727-467-4457.


Tournament Pass

Single Day Tickets




Seniors (65+) / Child (5-13) / Student w/ ID / Active Military



Children (4 & Under)



The American Athletic Conference Championship Central


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More