Timber Rattlers renew with WIAA as host of Wisconsin State Spring Baseball Tournament

Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium will be home of state tournament through 2020

The home of the Timber Rattlers will be the home of the WIAA Spring State Baseball tournament through 2020. (Ann Mollica/Wisconsin Timber Rattlers)

By Chris Mehring / Wisconsin Timber Rattlers | May 17, 2013 12:11 PM ET

GRAND CHUTE, WI - The Wisconsin State Spring Baseball Tournament isn't going anywhere for awhile. The Wisconsin Timber Rattlers and the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association have agreed that Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium is the place where champions will be crowned through the 2020 tournament.

The WIAA Board of Control announced the agreement earlier today.

"We are really excited to keep the state baseball tournament in the Fox Cities for the foreseeable future. We have had a great relationship with everyone at the WIAA, especially Dave Anderson and Wade Labecki," said Timber Rattlers president Rob Zerjav. "We appreciate their interest in keeping the tournament in Grand Chute. The entire Timber Rattlers organization feels this tournament belongs at Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium."

The home of the Timber Rattlers, which has been hosting the tournament since 1998, recently underwent a major renovation. A new club level with six suites and a year-round banquet facility was the centerpiece of the additions that were made to the ballpark between the end of the 2012 season and the beginning of the 2013 season.

The concessions stands, restrooms, and team store were other areas of the ballpark that were part of the renovation.

"We're excited and pleased to continue the relationship with the Timber Rattlers and Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium through 2020," Executive Director Dave Anderson said. "Along with the great people and dedicated staff, it is a venue second to none for our high school State Tournaments."

The 2013 WIAA State Spring Baseball Tournament starts on Tuesday, June 11 with the Division 1 Quarterfinals and Semifinals. The Semifinals for Divisions 2, 3, and 4 are scheduled for Wednesday, June 12. The Finals for all four divisions are set for Thursday, June 13.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More