Big Inning Leads TinCaps Over Cougars

Adams, Adamson Homer in Win

By Mike Couzens / Fort Wayne TinCaps | April 25, 2013 6:32 PM ET

Click here to see highlights and a post-game interview with Corey Adamson

Fort Wayne, IN - Home runs hit by Corey Adamson and Brian Adams helped the TinCaps to score five runs in the third inning, en route to a 6-4 victory over the Kane County Cougars Thursday night. Fort Wayne has now won five straight games at Parkview Field, and is 7-1 at home this season.

The TinCaps (11-8) scored first, bringing home a run in the first against Kane County (7-10) starter Lendy Castillo (0-1). Corey Adamson started the bottom of the first with a double to left field, and Diego Goris brought him home two batters later with a sacrifice fly. In the third inning, the TinCaps offense went full throttle, plating five runs.

Adamson led off with a home run, his first at Parkview Field and first since July 1, 2012 with the Eugene Emeralds. Gabriel Quintana singled in a run, Jeremy Baltz pitched in a sacrifice fly, and Brian Adams capped the frame with a line-drive two-run homer to left. Fort Wayne sent eight batters to the plate against Castillo in the third.

Kane County scored against TinCaps starter Joe Ross (3-0) in the second inning. He walked Jeimer Candelario to begin the inning, and Wilson Contreras scored Candelario with a single. Ross exited after 5 2/3 innings, tying the team mark for longest outing by a starter in 2013, having walked two and struck out three.

Fort Wayne reliever Genison Reyes allowed three runs to score in two-thirds of an inning, before being replaced by Chris Nunn. The southpaw worked the final inning and one-third to secure his first save of the year, as he pitched for the third time in four days.

Game two of the series is scheduled for Friday night at 7:05. The scheduled starters are Max Fried for The TinCaps and Pierce Johnson for the Cougars. The game can be seen on XFINITY Channel 81 and be heard on The Fan 1380 and

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More