Jordan Lennerton nabs MiLB Gold Glove Award!

By Toledo Mud Hens | October 1, 2013 12:00 PM

Minor League Baseball™ and Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., today announced that Jordan Lennerton, along with two other players in the Detroit Tigers' organization - Wade Gaynor and Jason Krizan, is among the nine Minor League Baseball players who have been chosen as recipients of a 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® for defensive excellence at their position.  

The honorees were selected among qualifying players from the 10 domestic-based, full-season Minor Leagues. They will each receive their own Rawlings Gold Glove Award, modeled after the iconic award given to Major League Baseball's top defensive players, during the 2014 season.

"Since 1957, Rawlings has celebrated defensive excellence at the highest levels of professional baseball" said Mike Thompson, senior vice president of marketing for St. Louis-based Rawlings. "Every organization should be proud to have a Minor League Baseball Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner in their system. For Detroit to have three recipients shows a systemic commitment to defense, and Rawlings is proud to honor the Minor League Baseball franchises, coaching staffs and players who make defense a priority."

"I know what an honor it is for a player to receive a Rawlings Gold Glove Award, having been involved in presenting them to the winners the last two years," said Pat O'Conner, President & CEO of Minor League Baseball. "The players really appreciate and understand how prestigious the accolade is and I want to thank Rawlings Sporting Goods for their continued support of Minor League Baseball."

2013 marked Lennerton's first season with the Toledo Mud Hens and his sixth professional season after being selected by the Tigers in the 33rd round of the 2009 draft. This season he represented the Tigers at the MLB Futures Game and participated in the 2013 Triple-A All-Star Game.

The 2013 Minor League Baseball recipients of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award are as follows:

  • P - Taylor Hill - Potomac, Harrisburg, Syracuse/Washington
  • C - Blake Forsythe - Binghamton/New York Mets
  • 1B - Jordan Lennerton - Toledo/Detroit
  • 2B - Carlos Alonso - Clearwater/Philadelphia
  • SS - Nick Ahmed - Mobile/Arizona
  • 3B - Wade Gaynor - Erie/Detroit
  • LF - Jason Krizan - Lakeland/Detroit
  • CF - Dalton Pompey - Lansing/Toronto
  • RF - Randal Grichuk - Arkansas/Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

Rawlings return to recognizing Minor League Baseball players for their defensive prowess began again in 2011. The St. Louis-based company named a Minor League all-star fielding team for several years in the 1960s. The honor was known as the Rawlings Silver Glove Award during this time.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More