Caughel Pitches Travs to Win at San Antonio

Travs Take Series Opener 4-1

Lindsey Caughel pitched six scoreless innings Sunday. (Stephanie Michael)

By Arkansas Travelers | April 16, 2017 7:08 PM ET

San Antonio, TX-The Arkansas Travelers won the opener of their three game series in San Antonio with a 4-1 victory on Sunday afternoon in front of 2,112. The Travs again used stellar starting pitching to set the tone for the victory.

               Lindsey Caughel authored six shutout innings as the starter allowing only four hits and a walk while striking out three. Only one Missions runner reached as far as second base while Caughel was on the mound. Caughel earned the victory to even his record at 1-1. The bullpen of Blake Perry (1.2 IP) and Zac Curtis (1.1 IP) slammed the door on San Antonio. The only run scored in the 8th inning as the result of a throwing error. Curtis retired all four hitters he faced and picked up his first save.

               Offensively, the Travelers scored four runs on six hits and seven walks. A three run fourth inning opened with a pair of walks before Ryan Casteel laced an RBI double into the left-center field gap to make it 1-0. RBI groundouts later in the inning from Marcus Littlewood and Jay Baum made it 3-0. The three run frame chased Missions starter Kyle Lloyd (2-1) from the game after only four innings.

               The Travs would tack on a run in the seventh inning due in large part to Ian Miller's speed. He led off the inning with a single to left then stole his way around the infield to third before coming home on Ryan Casteel's RBI single.

               Arkansas looks for back-to-back wins on Monday morning as they take on the Missions in a day game with first pitch set for 11:05 at Wolff Municipal Stadium. Right-hander Andrew Moore (0-0, 0.00) is scheduled to pitch for the Travs with righty Cesar Vargas (0-1, 7,94) set to go for San Antonio. The game will be broadcast on the Sports Animal 920, the First Pitch App, TuneIn radio and

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More