Thunder Rally, Sweep Series from Senators

By Spenser Smith / Trenton Thunder | August 11, 2019 8:05 PM

A five-run sixth inning helped the Thunder overcome a three-run deficit en route to a 7-5 win over the Harrisburg Senators on Sunday night in front of a crowd of 5,419 at ARM & HAMMER Park.

The win completed a three-game sweep of the Senators and extended the Thunder winning streak to five games, matching the team's longest of the season.

With the Senators (21-27, 63-55) leading 5-2, Brandon Wagner drew a leadoff walk in the bottom of the sixth and advanced to third on a Hoy Jun Park double, which chased Harrisburg starter Kevin McGowan from the game. Chris Gittens then delivered a sacrifice fly to right field off reliever Brian Bonnell (2-4), and after a Kellin Deglan RBI-single brought the Thunder (26-26, 64-54) within one run, Isiah Gilliam gave the Thunder a 6-5 lead with a towering two-run homer to right-center. Consecutive doubles by Matt Lipka and Angel Aguilar then capped the five-run rally.

Prior to the Thunder romp, McGowan had struck out a career-high 10 batters and allowed just three Thunder baserunners through his first five innings.

Meanwhile, Thunder starter Nick Green lasted just four innings after being tagged for three runs in the first inning and surrendering a two-run homer to David Masters in the fourth. But James Reeves (6-2) kept the game close by retiring nine of 10 batters faced in three innings of relief, and Brooks Kriske and Daniel Alvarez tossed one scoreless inning each to preserve the victory.

The series sweep was the first for the Thunder since May 6-8, when the team swept a three-game series in Richmond.

Your Thunder travel to Akron, Ohio on Tuesday to open a three-game series against the Akron RubberDucks at 7:05 p.m. The Thunder have yet to announce their starting pitcher, while Akron will send rehabbing Cleveland Indians RHP Corey Kluber to the mound. Pregame coverage begins at 6:50 p.m. on 920 AM The Jersey or online at

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More