Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
High-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Tri-City Dust Devils Tri-City Dust Devils

Sosa, Von Tungeln Named to NWL All-Star Team

August 30, 2012
Tri-City Dust Devils outfielders Francisco Sosa and Kyle Von Tungeln have been named to the 2012 Northwest League All-Star team, league president Bob Richmond announced Wednesday.

Sosa spent the majority of the season batting in the middle of the Tri-City order and through Wednesday was hitting .271 with four home runs and 32 RBIs. In addition, his 21 stolen bases ranked second in the league. Sosa is in his fifth season in the Rockies organization after spending 2011 in Casper and the previous three years in the Dominican Summer League after signing as a non-drafted free agent in 2007.

Von Tungeln emerged as the Dust Devils' leadoff hitter after being drafted in the 13th round of this year's First-Year Player Draft out of TCU. Through Tuesday he leads the team in runs scored, and is hitting .258 with the league's fifth-best on-base percentage at .401.

Patrick Kivlehan of the Everett AquaSox was selected as the Northwest League's Most Valuable Player, and Clayton McCullough of the Vancouver Canadians has been named the Manager of the Year. The complete All-Star team is as follows:

1B - Taylor Ard, Everett AquaSox (Seattle Mariners)

2B - Gioskar Amaya, Boise Hawks (Chicago Cubs)

3B - Patrick Kivlehan, Everett AquaSox (Seattle Mariners)

SS - Jorge Flores, Vancouver Canadians (Toronto Blue Jays)

DH - Taylor Ard, Everett AquaSox (Seattle Mariners)

Catcher - Mike Zunino, Everett AquaSox (Seattle Mariners)

OF - Francisco Sosa, Tri-City Dust Devils (Colorado Rockies)

OF - Royce Bolinger, Spokane Indians (Texas Rangers)

OF - Kyle Von Tungeln, Tri-City Dust Devils (Colorado Rockies)

LP - Alexander Carreras, Yakima Bears (Arizona Diamondbacks)

RP - Javier Avendano, Vancouver Canadians (Toronto Blue Jays)

L Relief - Christopher Nunn, Eugene Emeralds (San Diego Padres)

R Relief - Roman Madrid, Eugene Emeralds (San Diego Padres)