Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

ValleyCats 15th Anniversary All-Time Team

Leading vote recipients Ben Zobrist and Hunter Pence highlight the 31-man roster
April 25, 2016

The Tri-City ValleyCats revealed their 15th Anniversary All-Time Team roster in 2016 following a month-long online fan vote. The top vote recipients were Ben Zobrist of the Chicago Cubs, Hunter Pence of the San Francisco Giants, Dallas Keuchel and Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, J.D. Martinez of the Detroit Tigers, and Astros prospect Joe Musgrove.

Other current Major Leaguers selected to the team include White Sox pitcher Bud Norris, Astros outfielders Preston Tucker and George Springer, catcher Jason Castro, Phillies pitcher Vince Velasquez, and Dodgers super-utility man Kike Hernandez.

The rest of the pitching staff is comprised of Astros farmhands Michael Feliz, Gonzalo Sanudo, and Ryan Thompson, Angels farmhand Troy Scribner, and former minor leaguers Chris Salamida of Watervliet, Ronnie Ventura, Jorge De Leon, Jason Dominguez, Rodrigo Escobar, and all-time ValleyCats saves leader Blake Ford.

Rounding out the infield along with Zobrist and Hernandez are Astros prospects A.J. Reed, Matt Duffy, 2015 New York-Penn League Batting Champion Bobby Wernes, and former minor leaguers Phil Disher and Ben Orloff. 2012 NYPL Batting Champ Tyler Heineman joins Castro behind the plate.

Along with Pence, Martinez, Springer, and Tucker in the outfield are Astros prospects Andrew Aplin and Johnny Sewald. White Sox minor leaguer J.B. Shuck rounds out the All-Time Team as the designated hitter.

The fans also chose Ed Romero as manager of the team. Romero led the ValleyCats to Stedler Division titles in each of his three seasons with the ValleyCats ('13 - '15), and captured the New York-Penn League championship in 2013.

More than 450 players have donned a ValleyCats uniform, but only those listed above will comprise the 15th Anniversary All-Time Team.

"Over the past 14 years, ValleyCats fans have had the opportunity to witness many great players on their journey to the major leagues," said ValleyCats Chief Operating Officer / Executive Vice President Rick Murphy. "As we enter our 15th Anniversary Season in the Capital Region, we're excited to honor those who have been selected by our fans to the All-Time Team."

The team was packaged into a commemorative 15th anniversary baseball card set, presented by National Grid, and was given away in six portions at the ValleyCats six Friday night home games in 2016. The complete set featured 42 cards, including nine momentous occasions in ValleyCats history.


Pitchers (Year with ValleyCats)

SP- Michael Feliz (2013)

SP- Dallas Keuchel (2009)

SP- Joe Musgrove (2014)

SP- Chris Salamida (2006)

SP- Troy Scribner (2014-15)

SP- Vince Velasquez (2012)

SP- Ronnie Ventura (2004)

RP- Jorge De Leon (2010)

RP- Jason Dominguez (2007)

RP- Rodrigo Escobar (2004)

RP- Blake Ford (2012)

RP- Bud Norris (2006)

RP- Gonzalo Sanudo (2013)

RP- Ryan Thompson (2014)


Catchers (Year with ValleyCats)

C- Jason Castro (2008)

C- Tyler Heineman (2012)*


Infielders (Year with ValleyCats)

1B- Phil Disher (2008)

1B- A.J. Reed (2014)

2B- Jose Altuve (2009)

2B- Kike Hernandez (2010)

3B- Matt Duffy (2011)

3B- Bobby Wernes (2015)*

SS- Ben Orloff (2009-10)

SS- Ben Zobrist (2004)*


Outfielders (Year with ValleyCats)

OF- Hunter Pence (2004)

OF- J.D. Martinez (2009)

OF- George Springer (2011)

OF- Andrew Aplin (2012)

OF- Preston Tucker (2012)

OF- Johnny Sewald (2015)


Designated Hitter (Year with ValleyCats)

OF- J.B. Shuck (2008)


Manager (Year with ValleyCats)

Ed Romero (2013-15)


* - New York-Penn League Batting Champion