Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Double-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Tulsa Drillers Tulsa Drillers

Four Drillers Named to Texas League All-Star Team

Bergman, Parker, Nina and Adames voted to elite squad
August 27, 2013

Texas League President Tom Kayser announced the 2013 Texas League End of Season All-Star Team today and the Tulsa Drillers were well represented on the squad. Pitcher Christian Bergman, outfielder Kyle Parker and infielders Angelys Nina and Cristhian Adames were named to the elite squad.

The four members tied Tulsa with San Antonio for the second most players on the 21-player team. Corpus Christi had the most representatives with five players. The squad was chosen by voting from Texas League managers and media members.

Bergman was the only pitcher chosen from a Tulsa staff that is currently third in the Texas League in team ERA. The right-hander has made 26 starts this season and has logged an 8-7 record with a 3.31 ERA. His 166 innings pitched are the most in the TL, while his 1.07 WHIP is the third-best mark.

Parker has produced one of the most rounded offensive seasons in the league. The outfielder is currently hitting .283, the eighth best mark in the TL. Parker has also added 23 home runs, tying him with teammate Kiel Roling for the third most in the TL, and 71 runs batted in. He is also third in the league with 225 total bases.

Nina was named the utility infielder on the All-Star squad. He is currently seventh in the Texas League with a .284 batting average and has batted anywhere from leadoff spot to the sixth spot in the Tulsa lineup this year. He as 21 doubles, 10 home runs and 19 stolen bases while leading all TL second basemen with a .979 fielding average.

Adames was selected as the team's shortstop, despite missing more than 30 games this season due to injuries. He has hit .269 with 18 doubles and 12 stolen bases. Adames also leads all league shortstops with a .971 fielding percentage, committing only 13 errors this year.

Corpus Christi outfielder George Springer was named the Texas League Player of the Year. Springer, who is currently playing for Triple-A Oklahoma City, hit .297 with 19 home runs and 55 runs batted in just over half a season in the TL.

David Martinez of the Hooks was named the Pitcher of the Year. The right-hander was 14-2 with a 2.02 ERA for Corpus Christi before being promoted to the majors by the Houston Astros earlier this month.

Former major league infielder Rich Dauer was selected as the Manager of the Year. The San Antonio skipper has led the Missions to the second-best record in the TL.

It was also announced that Corpus Christi pitching coach Gary Ruby was named the recipient of the Mike Coolbaugh Texas League Coach of the Year Award. The award goes to the league's top coach and is named after the former Drillers coach, Mike Coolbaugh, who was tragically killed during a game in 2007.

The complete All-Star Squad is below.



1B, Anthony Aliotti-Midland

2B, Taylor Lindsey, Arkansas

3B, Ruben Gotay, Springfield

3B, Jonathan Meyer, Corpus Christi

SS, Cristhian Adames, Tulsa

UT, Angelys Nina, Tulsa

OF, Reymond Fuentes, San Antonio

OF, Mike O'Neill, Springfield

OF, Kyle Parker, Tulsa

OF, George Springer, Corpus Christi

DH, Brett Nicholas, Frisco

C, Max Stassi, Corpus Christi


P, Christian Bergman, Tulsa

P, Mike Foltynewicz, Corpus Christi

P, Carlos Hernandez, Midland

P, Brandon Hynick, Arkansas

P, Jeremy McBryde, San Antonio

P, David Martinez, Corpus Christi

P, Kevin Quackenbush, San Antonio

P, Neil Ramirez, Frisco

P, Keyvius Sampson, San Antonio


Manager of the Year - Rich Dauer, San Antonio

Player of the Year - George Springer, Corpus Christi

Pitcher of the Year - David Martinez, Corpus Christi

Mike Coolbaugh Coach of the Year - Gary Ruby, Corpus Christi