Brandon Lowe named FSL Player of the Year

Becomes first Stone Crabs player to win league honor

Brandon Lowe was named FSL Player of the Year Monday.

By John Vittas / Charlotte Stone Crabs | August 28, 2017 4:44 PM ET


PORT CHARLOTTE, Fla. (August 28, 2017) - Charlotte Stone Crabs second baseman Brandon Lowe was named the Florida State League Player of the Year, the league office announced Monday.


Lowe is the first Stone Crabs player to ever win the league's most prestigious individual honor.


"It's a great honor," Lowe said. "There is a ton of talent in the FSL and to be voted the player of the year is an incredible feeling. I have to thank everyone that helped me prepare for the season and thank my teammates for putting me in positions to do so well."


Despite getting promoted to Double-A Montgomery on August 2, the University of Maryland product still leads the Florida State League in batting average (.311), doubles (34), on-base percentage (.403), slugging percentage (.524) and OPS (.927).


The Suffolk, Va. native will finish as Charlotte's single-season champion in slugging percentage and OPS, breaking records set by two-time Major League All-Star Stephen Vogt in 2010. He will also place second in doubles (34), fourth in batting average (.311) and on-base percentage (.403), seventh in runs scored (62) and tenth in walks (47).


Ranked as the Rays' No. 18 prospect by MLB Pipeline, Lowe worked hard in the offseason to show substantial improvement from 2016, when he hit .248/.357/.343 with 23 extra-base hits for Low-A Bowling Green. In 2017, he has improved his overall line to .302/.383/.504 with 53 extra-base hits over 108 games between two levels.


"Last year was such a learning experience," Lowe said. "Coming out of college, I thought I kind of had it figured out. But it's nothing like that once you get to pro ball. Everything I learned from last year has really helped me grow as a player."


Two of Lowe's teammates were also named FSL Postseason All-Stars. Brett Sullivan was voted to the team at catcher while Ryan Boldt earned the nod in the outfield.


Previous FSL Player of the Year winners:

2016 - Aristides Aquino (Daytona)

2015 - Dominic Smith (St. Lucie)

2014 - Josh Bell (Bradenton)

2013 - Dustin Lawley (St. Lucie)

2012 - Alex Dickerson (Bradenton)

2011 - Kyle Jensen (Jupiter)

2010 - Melky Mesa (Tampa)

2009 - Austin Romine (Tampa)

2008 - Logan Morrison (Jupiter)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More