Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Redbirds Games To Be Aired In St. Louis Area
Cardinals' Triple-A Affiliate To Begin Broadcasting On KTRS 550 AM
05/30/2014 6:43 PM ET

MEMPHIS, Tenn. - The Memphis Redbirds are excited to announce that 18 Redbirds games will be broadcast on KTRS 550 AM radio during the 2014 regular season. This announcement follows the Redbirds being chosen for Minor League Baseball's nationally televised "Game of the Week" on the CBS Sports Network last night.

"We're really excited about the Redbirds partnering with KTRS," said Redbirds General Manager Craig Unger. "Their reach will offer St. Louis listeners and Cardinal Nation the opportunity to follow the Redbirds prospects before they become Major League stars at Busch Stadium. While it allows for us to extend the Redbirds brand in St. Louis, it also lets us get the word out about upcoming events and attract tourists to Memphis."

"The Cardinals have never had a greater era of producing home-grown talent and the interest has never been greater then today with the Cardinals' minor-league baseball teams and prospects,'' said KTRS station general manager Mark Dorsey. "And with so much talent on the Memphis Redbird roster; it gives Cardinal Nation a chance to hear and learn about the future stars of tomorrow - today on KTRS."

Redbirds games are broadcast by Steve Selby, who has been part of the broadcast team since AutoZone Park opened in 2000. The Virginia native is currently in his 29th season in the booth and has been at the microphone for more than 1,800 games as a member of the Redbirds.

KTRS' broadcasts of Redbirds games are to take place at times when the St. Louis Cardinals are not scheduled to be playing. A complete listing of 18 home and road Redbirds games on KTRS is below, with coverage beginning on Saturday at 7:05 pm at Oklahoma City.

DAY DATE
FIRST PITCH
OPPONENT
Saturday May 31
7:05
at Oklahoma City RedHawks (Houston Astros)
Saturday June 7
6:05
Nashville Sounds (Milwaukee Brewers)
Monday June 9
7:05
Tacoma Rainiers (Seattle Mariners)
Wednesday June 18
8:05
at Salt Lake Bees (Los Angeles Angels)
Saturday June 21
9:05
at Las Vegas 51s (New York Mets)
Thursday July 3
7:05
at Nashville Sounds (Milwaukee Brewers)
Saturday July 5
6:05
New Orleans Zephyrs (Miami Marlins)
Saturday July 19
6:05
Colorado Springs Sky Sox (Colorado Rockies)
Monday July 21
7:05
Omaha Storm Chasers (Kansas City Royals)
Thursday July 24
7:05
Omaha Storm Chasers (Kansas City Royals)
Friday July 25
7:05
at Iowa Cubs (Chicago Cubs)
Saturday July 26
7:05
at Iowa Cubs (Chicago Cubs)
Thursday July 31
7:05
at Omaha Storm Chasers (Kansas City Royals)
Saturday August 4
7:05
at Round Rock Express (Texas Rangers)
Saturday August 9
6:05
at New Orleans Zephyrs (Miami Marlins)
Thursday August 21
7:05
Sacramento River Cats (Oakland Athletics)
Wednesday August 27
7:05
Fresno Grizzlies (San Francisco Giants)
Thursday August 28
7:00
at New Orleans Zephyrs (Miami Marlins)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.
MiLB.com Comments

Related Coverage