Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Appalachian League
Milb Logo

Rosario, Drury named Appy's best

E-Twins' Shibuya headlines All-Stars as league's top pitcher
August 24, 2011
Is it better to be the home run champ or the league's leading hitter? The Appalachian League decided Wednesday that both were equally impressive.

Eddie Rosario, with 16 homers, and Brandon Drury, with a .350 average, were named co-Players of the Year as Appy League president Lee Landers announced the 2011 All-Star team.

Elizabethton Twins right-hander Tim Shibuya, who leads the league with eight wins, was named Pitcher of the Year.

Dennis Holmberg of the Bluefield Blue Jays was named Manager of the Year, while Elizabethton's Ryan Hedwall was selected best trainer.

Rosario, a 19-year-old outfielder, leads the circuit with 16 longballs and ranks fourth with 47 RBIs. Drury, a third baseman selected in the 13th round of last year's Draft, is third with 48 RBIs entering play Wednesday.

Shibuya (8-2) also leads the circuit with 66 strikeouts and is 10th with a 3.16 ERA.

Elizabethon was well-represented, with infielder Miguel Sano and reliever Madison Boer joining Rosario and Shibuya on the All-Star team.

Filling out the infield are Greeneville Astros first baseman Chase Davidson (.335, 11 homers, 44 RBIs), Johnson City Cardinals second baseman Tyler Rahmatulla (.327, 6, 38) and Princeton Rays shortstop Taylor Motter (.345, 21 RBIs, 20 stolen bases) Cam Maron (.308, 3, 22) of the Kingsport Mets is the All-Star catcher.

Jamal Austin (.342, 13 RBIs, 19 steals) of the Pulaski Mariners and Bluefield teammates Kevin Pillar (.344, 7, 34) and Chris Hawkins (.318, 5, 50) join Rosario as All-Star outfielders. RBI leader Art Charles (.229, 11, 54) of the Blue Jays is the designated hitter.

2011 Appalachian League All-Star Team
Position Players
C Cam Maron Kingsport New York (NL)
1B Chase Davidson Greeneville Houston
2B Tyler Rahmatulla Johnson City St. Louis
3B Brandon Drury* Danville Atlanta
SS Taylor Motter Princeton Tampa Bay
OF Eddie Rosario* Elizabethton Minnesota
OF Jamal Austin Pulaski Seattle
OF Kevin Pillar Bluefield Toronto
DH Art Charles Bluefield Toronto
UT INF Miguel Sano Elizabethton Minnesota
UT OF Chris Hawkins Bluefield Toronto
RHP Tim Shibuya** Elizabethton Minnesota
LHP Kyle Hald Johnson City St. Louis
RP Madison Boer Elizabethton Minnesota
Field Staff
Manager Dennis Holmberg Bluefield Toronto
Trainer^ Ryan Hedwall Elizabethton Minnesota

* Co-Players of the Year
** Pitcher of the Year
^ As announced by the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society

Danny Wild is an editor for