The Appalachian League announces Hall of Fame

League reveals seven member inaugural class

By Bluefield Blue Jays | June 12, 2019 1:23 PM

The Appalachian League is proud to announce the creation of a Hall of Fame, revealing its inaugural class Wednesday. The seven member class includes Greg Maddux, Eddie Murray, Kirby Puckett, Cal Ripken Jr., Nolan Ryan, Jim Thome, and Alan Trammell.

"With the Appalachian League's long and storied past, it seems only fitting that the league should establish a Hall of Fame," commented Appalachian League President Dan Moushon. "We could not ask for a more deserving and exciting inaugural class."


The purpose of the Appalachian League Hall of Fame is to recognize individuals for their accomplishments and/or contributions to the League on the field of play or in an executive or an administrative capacity. This shall include but not necessarily be limited to: players, managers, coaches, umpires, and team and league executives. Entry into the Appalachian League Hall of Fame shall be made available to anyone previously or currently associated with the league regardless of the duration of the association, beginning with the 1957 season.


Creation of the Appalachian League Hall of Fame will be a phased process. The first Appalachian League Hall of Fame class (June 2019) will encompass those individuals that have already been inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown. Special Fall 2019 inductions will be conducted by unique procedures prior to beginning annual (2020) inductions which will follow uniform procedures.

Please see the link below to access the bios of each member.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More