Where are they now? A look at where former D-Braves are starting 2017 across Atlanta's minor league affiliates

By Betsy Haugh / Danville Braves | April 5, 2017 10:06 AM

With the 2017 Minor League Baseball season beginning on Thursday, April 6, Atlanta's full-season minor league affiliates have released their Opening Day rosters. 53 former Danville Braves have moved up in the Braves system, with 18 starting the season at Single A Rome, 16 at Single A Advanced Florida, 14 at Double A Mississippi, and 5 at Triple A Gwinnett.

Atlanta's new No. 1 prospect, 2B/SS Ozzie Albies, who advanced to the organization's top prospect slot after Dansby Swanson recorded two at-bats for the big league club on Opening Day, highlights the list of former D-Braves in Atlanta's minor league system. Albies, the No. 9 prospect in baseball according to MLB Pipeline, will begin the year with Gwinnett, but many expect he could make the jump to Atlanta before 2017 is over. 

See below for the full list of where former D-Braves will begin the 2017 season.

Rome Braves (A)
P Ian Anderson (16)
P Oriel L Caicedo (14)
P Matt Custred (15)
P Jon Kennedy (16)
P Ryan Lawlor (15)
P Bladimir Matos (16)
P Adam McCreery (16)
P Jeremy Walker (16)
P Joey Wentz (16)
P Brandon S. White (16)
C Brett Cumberland (16)
C Tanner Murphy (14)
INF Derian Cruz (16)
INF Kurt Hoekstra (15)
INF Kevin Josephina (16)
INF Marcus Mooney (16)
INF Juan Yepez (15)
OF Cristian Pache (16)

Florida Fire Frogs (A+)
P Corbin Clouse (16)
P Josh Graham (15)
P Drew Harrington (16)
P Chase Johnson-Mullins (15)
P Taylor Lewis (15)
P Sean McLaughlin (15)
P Devan Watts (16)
P Jacob Webb (16)
C Wigberto Nevarez (14)
INF Carlos Castro (15)
INF Omar Obregon (14)
INF Austin Riley (15)
OF Ronald Acuna (15)
OF Braxton Davidson (14)
OF Ray-Patrick Didder (15)
OF Tyler Neslony (16)

Mississippi Braves (AA)
P Kolby Allard (16)
P Kyle Kinman (14)
P Evan Phillips (15)
P Chad Sobotka (15)
P Mike Soroka (15)
P Patrick Weigel (15)
P Matt Withrow (15)
C Joe Odom (13)
INF Carlos Franco (12)
INF Levi Hyams (12)
OF Keith Curcio (14)
OF Stephen Gaylor (15)
OF Jared James (16)
OF Connor Lien (13)

Gwinnett Braves (AAA)
P Caleb Dirks (14)
P Lucas Sims (12)
INF Ozzie Albies (14)
INF Johan Camargo (13)
INF Kyle Kubitza (11)

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More