Choi named Arizona League MVP

Mariners catching prospect batted .378 for last-place team

Ji-Man Choi posted a 1.000 OPS before jumping to the Cal League. (Bill Mitchell/Four Seam Images)

By Daren Smith / | August 31, 2010 5:48 PM

South Korean catcher Ji-Man Choi, who batted .378 for the last-place Mariners, on Tuesday was named Arizona League MVP.

Choi also ranked second in both on-base percentage (.459) and slugging (.541), collecting 17 doubles, a homer and 23 RBIs in 39 games before he was promoted to Class A Advanced High Desert.

While Choi was the only Mariner on the Postseason All-Star Team, the Royals and Rangers each placed three players on the 13-man squad.

Royals right-hander Robinson Yambati, who led the league with eight wins and ranked sixth with a 2.71 ERA, is joined by league saves leader Tyler Gatrell (1-0, 1.29 ERA, 12 saves) and first baseman Henry Moreno (.327, four homers, 32 RBIs).

The Rangers' representatives are third baseman Christian Villanueva (.314, 2, 35), shortstop Odubel Herrera (.337, 0, 31) and outfielder Teodoro Martinez (.313, 1, 22, 20 stolen bases.

Second baseman Nick Shaw, the Brewers' 25th-round pick in the 2010 Draft, fills out the infield after batting .339 with a league-leading .478 on-base percentage, 19 RBIs and 14 steals in 48 games.

The Brewers' other All-Star is left-hander Charly Bashara (5-2, 2.37), while Tony Diggs was named Manager of the Year after guiding the club to a 34-22 record and a first-place finish in the Central Division.

Robert Maddox (.283, 7, 46), Cincinnati's 18th-round pick in June, is the designated hitter. Reds teammate Kurtis Muller (.317, 0, 22) and Royce Consigli (.340, 1, 31) of the Athletics are the other All-Star outfielders.

A's left-hander Omar Duran is the fourth member of the pitching staff after going 2-1 with a 2.01 ERA in 14 games, including two starts.

2010 Arizona League Postseason All-Star Team
C Ji-Man Choi Mariners .378 1 23
1B Henry Moreno Royals .327 4 32
2B Nick Shaw Brewers .339 0 19
SS Odubel Herrera Rangers .337 0 31
3B Christian Villanueva Rangers .314 2 35
OF Teodoro Martinez Rangers .313 1 22
OF Kurtis Muller Reds .317 0 22
OF Royce Consigli Athletics .340 1 31
DH Robert Maddox Reds .283 7 46
SP Robinson Yambati Royals 8 2 2.71
SP Charly Bashara Brewers 5 2 2.37
RP Tyler Gatrell Royals 1 0 1.29 12
RP Omar Duran Athletics 3 1 2.01

Most Valuable Player: Ji-Man Choi, Mariners
Manager of the Year: Tony Diggs, Brewers

Daren Smith is an editor for This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More