Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Motor Mile Field at Calfee Park

Historic Calfee Park

Calfee Park was built in 1935 as a result of the Works Progress Administration, which was one of several New Deal Programs enacted by President Franklin Roosevelt after the Great Depression. Named after the former Mayor of Pulaski in 1935, Ernest W. Calfee, Calfee Park currently operates as the ninth oldest Minor League baseball park in the United States. The rich history of Calfee Park continues to thrive to this day, as remaining artifacts from the original 1935 development continue to stand. Fans are greeted by a beautiful rock wall entrance on the northern side of the ballpark and the original canopy that covers the entire 3rd base grandstand.

In just under a century's time, Calfee Park has been used for horse shows, fairs, concerts, exhibitions, and most recently, Pulaski Yankees Baseball. It has been home to over eight MiLB franchises, hosted high school and college baseball, and, prior to the consolidation of the Dublin and Pulaski High Schools, was the home football and baseball field for the Pulaski Orioles.

Following a major renovation in 1999 and largely due to its community value and significance, Calfee Park was added to the National and State Historic Landmarks Registry. After the 1999 summer baseball season, Calfee Park was named the Appalachian League Facility of the Year. The unique ballpark has been featured and pictured in several magazines, such as Sports Illustrated, National Geographic, Life and Virginia Living.

In 2015, the Shelor Automotive Group purchased Calfee Park from the Town of Pulaski to ensure necessary renovations would be made to keep baseball alive in Pulaski and the surrounding New River Valley. Renovations and upgrades included a renovated home team clubhouse; new visiting team clubhouse, concessions stand, souvenir shop and press box; the addition of VIP Towers, upgraded seating, additional parking, a new mascot and a 35' x 22' JumboTron.

Continued upgrades have been made since 2015, including a new Bermuda grass playing field, new irrigation system, new home offices for park employees, an expanded upper concourse, and new scoreboard.

Calfee Park is owned and operated by Calfee Park Baseball, Inc.