Beaty & Barlow Honored by Texas League

Matt Beaty Named 2017 TL Player of the Year, Barlow Selected as All-Star

Matt Beaty and Scott Barlow were recognized by the Texas League Friday as Beaty was named as the league's 2017 Player of the Year while Barlow was voted to the end of year All-Star Squad. (Photos by Rich Crimi | Graphic Courtesy of Naeem Thomas)

By Tulsa Drillers | August 25, 2017 4:16 PM


Tulsa, OK - The Texas League announced its End of Year All-Star Team today, and the Tulsa Drillers had two representatives on the elite squad. Headlining the entire squad was infielder Matt Beaty, who was named the TL's Player of the Year. Starting pitcher Scott Barlow was also selected to the All-Star roster.

It is the second consecutive year that the Drillers have had one of their players named as the Texas League Player or Pitcher of the Year as Chase De Jong was named the Texas League Pitcher of the Year last season.

Beaty is in elite company as he is just the third Drillers position player to ever receive the Player of the Year Award, joining Bubba Smith (1996) and Ryan Shealy (2004). Smith went on to enjoy a 16-year professional baseball playing career while Shealy played five years in the Majors for the Colorado Rockies, the Kansas City Royals and the Boston Red Sox.

For Beaty, the honor was well-deserved as the Tulsa infielder has been a consistent presence in the Drillers lineup and in the field all season long. Playing primarily first base and third base in the field, Beaty has led the Drillers in hitting with his .325 batting average entering play Friday. That batting average is also good for third-best in the Texas League among all qualified hitters. He is also among the league leaders in hits (129), doubles (29), extra-base hits (44), on-base percentage (.382) and slugging percentage (.509).

Barlow earned a place on the All-Star roster with outstanding numbers on the mound between two different stints with Tulsa.

Over 17 starts, Barlow has compiled a 6-3 record with a 2.12 ERA. He has struck out 108 opposing hitters in just 93.1 innings pitched while limited his opponents to a miniscule .161 batting average against.

The complete Texas League All-Star Team is listed below.

The All-Stars are determined through voting by league managers, coaches and media members.


2017 Texas League End of Season All Star Team

1B           Viosergy Rosa, Midland

2B           Max Schrock, Midland

3B           J.D. Davis, Corpus Christi

SS           Luis Urias, San Antonio

C             Jose Trevino, Frisco

OF          B.J. Boyd, Midland

OF          Anthony Garcia, Springfield

OF          Ian Miller, Arkansas


P             Scott Barlow, Tulsa

P             Dakota Hudson, Springfield

P             Trey Wingenter, San Antonio

P             Brett Kennedy, San Antonio

P             Matt Pearce, Springfield

P             Jack Flaherty Springfield


Texas League Pitcher of the Year - Dakota Hudson, Springfield

Texas League Player of the Year - MATT BEATY, TULSA

Texas League Manager of the Year - Phillip Wellman, San Antonio

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More