Former Fort Wayne Players in 2019 MLB Postseason

Former TinCaps Also Shine in Minor League Baseball Playoffs

Trea Turner (Jeff Nycz)

By Fort Wayne TinCaps | October 1, 2019 12:00 PM

FORT WAYNE, Ind. - After 57 former Fort Wayne players appeared in Major League Baseball's regular season, some are now in the postseason vying for a World Series ring.


National League

  • Washington Nationals
    • INF Trea Turner (2014)
    • RHP Joe Ross (2012-13) - Not on postseason roster
  • Milwaukee Brewers
    • INF Cory Spangenberg (2011)
  • Los Angeles Dodgers
    • INF David Freese (2006)
    • INF Jedd Gyorko (2010) - Not on postseason roster
  • Atlanta Braves
    • LHP Max Fried (2013-14)
  • St. Louis Cardinals
    • RHP Miles Mikolas (2010)

American League

  • Oakland A's
    • RHP Joakim Soria (2007)
  • Tampa Bay Rays
    • INF Eric Sogard (2007) 

Speaking of postseason play, recent TinCaps excelled in the Minors this year, too. The San Diego Padres' first-year Double-A affiliate, the Amarillo Sod Poodles, won the eight-team Texas League's title in September. Over the course of the season, the Soddies featured more than 40 former 'Caps.

Meanwhile, San Diego's Class A Advanced affiliate, the Lake Elsinore Storm, reached the eight-team California League's championship series. During the year, the Storm had over 50 players with Fort Wayne experience.

Looking to 2020, the TinCaps will be adding players with postseason reps. The Padres' Short-Season affiliate, the Tri-City Dust Devils, made the championship series of the eight-team Northwest League. Additionally, the Padres also had a rookie-level Arizona League affiliate qualify for their postseason.     


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More