2018 Opening Day Roster Announced

Includes six players returning from 2017 Hops playoff club

(Craig Mitchelldyer/Hillsboro Hops)

By Hillsboro Hops | June 12, 2018 12:25 PM

Hillsboro, OR (June 12, 2018) - The Hillsboro Hops (@HillsboroHops) released their Opening Day roster on Tuesday. The announcement was made by the Hops in conjunction with their parent club, the Arizona Diamondbacks.

The 27-man roster features six players who were with the club during last year's run to the Northwest League playoffs. RHPs Luis Castillo and Rafael Pujols, INF Ryan Dobson and OFs Tra Holmes and Dan Swain all spent significant time with Hillsboro last season, and LHP Kenny Hernandez was with the Hops briefly in 2017, though he did not appear in a game. In addition, three players on this year's initial roster were with Hillsboro at the end of the 2016 season: RHP Wesley Rodriguez, INF Francis Martinez and INF Joey Rose.

INF Keshawn Lynch, the Diamondbacks' 14th-round selection from 2017 out of a Florida junior college, did not play with Hillsboro in 2017, but he played in Hillsboro. Lynch was a member of Arizona's Rookie-League affiliate in Missoula, Montana, and he played at Ron Tonkin Field in last year's Northwest League-Pioneer League All-Star Game.

The initial roster also features three 2018 draft picks: RHP Josh Green (14th round, Southeastern Louisiana University), RHP Ethan Larrison (16th round, Indiana State), and RHP Kyler Stout (18th round, Oral Roberts University). Other 2018 draft picks are expected to join the Hops in the coming weeks.

Two players listed at MLBpipeline.com among the Diamondbacks' top 30 prospects are on the roster: RHP Matt Tabor (ranked #9) and catcher Andy Yerzy (ranked #16). (Selections from 2018 are not yet eligible for that list.) Tabor was selected out of high school in the third round of the 2017 draft, while Yerzy was a second-rounder out of high school in 2016.

The Hops open play on Friday at Everett at 7:05PM, with the game airing on Rip City Radio 620AM. Hillsboro's home opener is on Wednesday, June 20th at 7:05 PM against Eugene. The Hops-the 2014 and 2015 Northwest League champions-will be seeking their fifth consecutive playoff appearance.

Download a printable (PDF) roster here

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More