Hillsboro Hops Top NWL with Five All-Star Selections

Luis Frias, Kristian Robinson announced as starters

By Brian Berger / Hillsboro Hops | July 31, 2019 2:57 PM

HILLSBORO, OR (July 31, 2019) - The Northwest League released its midseason All-Star roster on Wednesday, and the Hillsboro Hops (@HillsboroHops) had five players selected, tying with the Spokane Indians for the most in the league. Players were selected by a vote of league managers, coaches and front-office staff. The Northwest League will compete against the Pioneer League in the annual NWL-PBL All-Star Game on Tuesday, August 6th at Memorial Stadium in Boise.

RHP Luis Frias , 21, was selected as the starting pitcher. Arguably the best pitcher in the league so far in 2019, Frias leads the league in strikeouts with 72 (no one else has more than 48). The native of Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic, is second in the league with a 1.99 earned run average. He also tops the league in innings pitched (49.2), is tied for the league lead in starts (10) and is fourth in the circuit with a .205 batting average against.

OF Kristian Robinson , at age 18, is one of the youngest players in the league-and is also perhaps the best all-around player and prospect in the circuit. He was chosen as a starting outfielder. The native of The Bahamas leads the league in runs batted in (34), is second in home runs (9), second in slugging (.517), second in OPS (.966) fifth in batting average (.321) and sixth in stolen bases (10).

INF Steven Leyton , 20, was selected as a reserve shortstop. The native of Leon, Nicaragua has proven to be one of the steadiest infielders in the league, having committed just five errors in 33 games. He is hitting .265 with four home runs, and is tied for third in the league with 30 runs scored.

OF Jesus Marriaga , 20, from Cartagena, Colombia, was selected as a reserve outfielder. He is hitting .276, is tied for third in the league with 30 runs scored, and is eighth in the NWL with nine stolen bases.

RHP Marcos Tineo , 22, from San Cristobal in the Dominican Republic, was selected to come out of the NWL bullpen. He is 3-2 and sits fourth in the league in ERA at 2.70.

The Hops are seeking their sixth consecutive playoff appearance, which would set a new NWL record. Their current run of five straight postseason berths is tied for the league record with Vancouver (2010-14).

About Hillsboro Hops:
The 2014 & 2015 Northwest League Champion Hillsboro Hops are the Single-A baseball affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks of Major League Baseball. The team's season runs from mid-June to early September. The franchise relocated to Hillsboro in 2012 and began play in 2013 in a new state-of-the-art 4,500 capacity ballpark, Ron Tonkin Field. The Hops are part of the 64-year old Northwest League, which includes teams in Boise, Eugene, Salem-Keizer, Tri-Cities, Spokane, Everett and Vancouver BC. Major League stars who rose to prominence via the Northwest League include Ken Griffey Jr., Felix Hernandez, Edgar Martinez, Reggie Jackson, Ozzie Smith, Rickey Henderson, Tony Gwynn and Dansby Swanson. Follow the Hops on Facebook at www.facebook.com/HillsboroHops and on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @HillsboroHops.  

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More