Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Spokane's Hoying highlights All-Stars

Hot-hitting Mailloux voted to Northwest squad at third base
August 31, 2010
Rangers prospect Jared Hoying was selected as the Northwest League's Most Valuable Player on Tuesday as the league revealed it's 2010 All-Star team.

League president Bob Richmond released the annual roster, which honors Spokane skipper Tim Hulett as Manager of the Year.

Hoying doesn't lead the league in any offensive categories, but he's posted solid numbers and ranks among the best in most power statistics, narrowly edging Everett's Kevin Mailloux for top overall hitter.

Hoying, a Fort Loramie, Ohio, native is tied for second in the league with 50 RBIs, ranks fifth in homers (10), second in steals (19), fifth in hits (75), third in runs (45) and fourth in average (.326).

The outfielder hit .289 at the University of Toledo before being drafted by Texas in the 10th round of June's Draft. He made an immediate impact, leading Spokane in hits, homers, RBIs, steals and slugging percentage.

Hoying won the NWL Player of the Week for the week of July 26th, making him the first Indian since the 2006 season to win the award.

Hulett, who also won Manager of the Year in 2008, led the Indians to a first-half East Division crown and 40 overall wins entering play Tuesday. Spokane owns the best team average (.279) and leads the circuit in RBIs (348), runs (393), hits (666), on-base percentage (.359) and OPS (.759). Indians pitching has combined for five shutouts and a 3.51 team ERA.

University of Connecticut product Pierre LePage was the team's only unanimous selection, voted to the roster at second base. The Cubs prospect is hitting .333 with a homer, 35 RBIs, 18 doubles and eight steals for Boise.

Yakima's Yazy Arbelo (C) and Zachary Walters (SS) join Mailloux (3B), Everett's Steven Baron (C) and Eugene's Emmanuel Quiles (C) in the All-Star infield. Vancouver's A.J. Kirby-Jones was selected as an All-Star at designated hitter.

Mailloux posted some impressive numbers for the AquaSox, leading the league with 15 homers, 19 doubles, 60 runs, 141 total bases and a .585 slugging percentage. The Canisius alum ranked second in the league with 50 RBIs and batted .296.

Boise's Alvaro Ramirez and Salem-Keizer's Ryan Scoma joined Hoying in the outfield.

Everett's Anthony Fernandez made the team as the All-Star left-handed starting pitcher; Tri-City's Chad Bettis was the right-hander.

Yakima southpaw Eury De La Rosa and Vancouver righty A.J. Griffin were voted in as relievers.

Below is the full roster:

2010 Northwest League Postseason All-Star Team
POS Player Team Affiliate
1B Yazy Arbelo Yakima Diamondbacks
2B Pierre LePage Boise Cubs
3B Kevin Mailloux Everett Mariners
SS Zachary Walters Yakima Diamondbacks
DH A.J. Kirby Jones Vancouver Athletics
C Steven Baron Everett Mariners
C Emmanuel Quiles Eugene Padres
OF Jared Hoying Spokane Rangers
OF Alvaro Ramirez Boise Cubs
OF Ryan Scoma Salem-Keizer Giants
LH SP Anthony Fernandez Everett Mariners
RH SP Chad Bettis Tri-City Rockies
LH RP Eury De La Rosa Yakima Diamondbacks
RH SP A.J. Griffin Vancouver Athletics

Manager of the Year: Tim Hulett, Spokane (Rangers)
Most Valuable Player: Jared Hoying, Spokane (Rangers)

Danny Wild is an editor for