Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Braves, Twins dominate Appy All-Stars

Danville sweeps Player and Pitcher of Year awards
August 23, 2005
The two teams with the best records in Minor League Baseball -- Elizabethton and Danville -- are both in the Appalachian League, and fittingly those two squads are well represented on the league's 2005 All-Star team.

Danville, which leads the West Division by 14.5 games and is only a half-game behind East-leading Elizabethton, had four Braves named to the 14-player team and also made a clean sweep of the Player and Pitcher of the Year awards.

Max Ramirez and Eric Campbell were selected as the squad's catcher and third baseman, respectively, and they also split the league's Player of the Year Award. Through Tuesday, Ramirez was running away with the batting title (.375) and was tied with Campbell for the league lead in hits (75). Campbell was also leading the league in home runs (17), RBIs (62), doubles (23), slugging percentage (.654), extra-base hits (42) and runs scored (71).

Braves second baseman Ovandy Suero, who has over twice as many stolen bases (44) as anyone else in the league, is also in the All-Star infield, while Danville's ace, Jairo Cuevas (6-1, 1.75 ERA), was named the squad's right-handed pitcher and the league's Pitcher of the Year.

Elizabethton is represented by left-handed pitcher Alexander Smit and the Manager of the Year, Ray Smith. Smit was 6-1 with two saves and a 2.08 ERA in 20 games before being promoted to Beloit. He struck out 83 batters in just 43 2/3 innings.

Here is a complete list of the 2005 Appalachian League All-Stars:

C - Max Ramirez, Danville
1B - P.J. Hiser, Burlington
2B - Ovandy Suero, Danville
3B - Eric Campbell, Danville
SS - Stuart Musslewhite, Bluefield
U-INF - Matthew Anderson, Kingsport
OF - Chris Cunningham, Princeton
OF - Aaron Cunningham, Bristol
OF - Jacob Butler, Pulaski
U-OF - Joshua Flores, Greenville
DH - Christian Acosta, Bristol
RHP - Jairo Cuevas, Danville
LHP - Alexander Smit, Elizabethton
RP - Robert Findlay, Princeton

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Eric Campbell and Max Ramirez (tie), Danville
PITCHER OF THE YEAR - Jairo Cuevas, Danville
MANAGER OF THE YEAR - Ray Smith, Elizabethton