Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners

Two Yankees, two Angels among the 2011 recipients
September 29, 2011
ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -- Minor League Baseball and Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., today announced the nine Minor League Baseball players who have been chosen as recipients of a Rawlings Gold Glove Award® for defensive excellence at their position. The winners, who were selected among qualifying players from the 10 domestic-based, full-season Minor Leagues, will each receive their own Rawlings Gold Glove Award, modeled after the iconic award given to Major League Baseball's top defenders.

2011 MiLB Rawlings Gold Glove Award Winners
Position Name Club(s) MLB Organization
P Craig Westcott San Jose San Francisco
C Tucker Barnhart Dayton Cincinnati
1B Efren Navarro Salt Lake Los Angeles (AL)
2B Steve Lombardozzi Harrisburg and Syracuse Washington
SS Darwin Perez Arkansas Los Angeles (AL)
3B Brandon Laird Scranton/Wilkes-Barre New York (AL)
LF Austin Krum Trenton and Scranton/Wilkes-Barre New York (AL)
CF Jordan Danks Charlotte Chicago (AL)
RF Cole Gillespie Reno Arizona
"Rawlings has celebrated defensive excellence at the professional level since the inaugural Rawlings Gold Glove Award team in 1957," said Mike Thompson, senior vice president of marketing for Rawlings.

"Minor League Baseball is and will always continue to be a great partner of Rawlings, and we are thrilled to reward the hard work and dedication of these nine superior defensive players with the newly designed Minor League Baseball Rawlings Gold Glove Award."

"All of Minor League Baseball would like to congratulate the winners of 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards," said Pat O'Conner, Minor League Baseball president.

"To be honored with such a prestigious award is quite an accomplishment and exemplifies excellence in the field. Minor League Baseball is also pleased to team with Rawlings Sporting Goods to bring back such a great tradition as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award."

This season marks the return of Rawlings honoring Minor League Baseball players for their defensive prowess. The St. Louis-based company named a Minor League All-Star fielding team on the basis of official fielding averages for several years in the 1960s. The accolade was known as the Rawlings Silver Glove Award during that time.

About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is a leading manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods in the United States. Since the company's inception in 1887, Rawlings' mission has always centered on enabling participation by developing and producing innovative, high-performance equipment and protective apparel for the professional, amateur and entry-level player. With an assortment of baseball, basketball, football and softball game-related product lines, Rawlings is present everywhere team sports are played. Leagues and conferences of all skill levels integrate Rawlings' unparalleled product portfolio into their sports: as the Official Baseball Supplier and Official Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball for the NCAA®, the official football for the NAIA®, the official basketball for the NAIA, NJCAA® and AAU®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®.

For more information, please visit or Rawlings' Facebook page, or call (314) 819-2800.