Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

TinCaps, Padres Announce Two-Year Extension

September 18, 2012
FORT WAYNE, Ind. - The Fort Wayne TinCaps are proud to announce that they have extended their player development contract with the San Diego Padres through the 2014 season. TinCaps President Mike Nutter, along with San Diego Padres Executive Vice President/General Manager Josh Byrnes, made the announcement.

"We are very happy to continue what has been a productive and mutually beneficial relationship with the San Diego Padres," Nutter said. "Baseball fans in Fort Wayne have been treated to top-notch talent on the field and exemplary individuals in the community, too. We have enjoyed working with the Padres since 1999, and look forward to watching the future stars of the franchise continue to develop here at Parkview Field."

The new agreement between the TinCaps and the Padres will extend the relationship between the two clubs for two more years, through the 2013 and 2014 seasons. It will mark the 15th and 16th consecutive years that the two franchises have been affiliated with one another.

"Continuing our relationship with the TinCaps was a top priority for us," said Byrnes. "The winning tradition instilled at Parkview Field and with the city of Fort Wayne makes the environment an ideal place for our players to grow. We look forward to another two successful years with the TinCaps organization."

Fort Wayne has reached the playoffs every season since 2009, a streak of four consecutive seasons, the longest current streak in the Midwest League. The TinCaps have reached the Midwest League finals twice in the last four years, and won the league championship in 2009. Notable players that have come through Fort Wayne since 1999 and gone on to prosperous Major League Baseball careers include 2011 World Series MVP David Freese (2006), Chase Headley (2005), Mat Latos (2008, 2009), Jake Peavy (2000) and Will Venable (2006). This season Yeison Asencio won the first batting title in the 20-year history of the franchise, and last year TinCaps outfielder Rymer Liriano was named MVP of the Midwest League.

Dating back to when Fort Wayne began its affiliation with San Diego, the Padres have sent 22 supplemental first-round or first-round picks to Fort Wayne. Recent notable first or supplemental first-round picks to play for the TinCaps include Travis Jankowski (2012), Jace Peterson (2012), Donavan Tate (2011, 2012), Cory Spangenberg (2011), Jaff Decker (2009) and Cory Luebke (2007, 2008).

Of the nearly 200 teams in Minor League Baseball, only eight teams are located farther from their parent club than Fort Wayne is from San Diego; however, none of those teams has been with their parent club as long as the TinCaps have been affiliated with the Padres.

"We are thrilled to extend our affiliation with Fort Wayne and the TinCaps," said Padres Vice President, Player Development and International Scouting Randy Smith. We have enjoyed a long successful relationship and look forward to continuing that tradition. Everything is first-class from the front office to the best playing surface in the Midwest League. Our players love playing for the TinCaps and we feel it is a great place to develop winning players."