Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Eastern League reveals All-Star rosters

New Britain to host circuit's Midsummer Classic on July 10
June 26, 2013

The Eastern League All-Star Game is set to return to New Britain, Conn., for the first time since 2003. The league announced the rosters for its July 10 Midsummer Classic on Wednesday, pitting the best of the Eastern Division against the cream of the Western.

For the East, first-place Binghamton and host New Britain lead the way with five players each. Portland and Trenton will send four players apiece and New Hampshire and Reading are represented by three players.

The East squad features Jim Murphy of the Fightin Phils, who leads the league with 15 home runs, and the B-Mets' Cesar Puello and Allan Dykstra, the circuit's top two sluggers at .616 and .607, respectively. Among the Eastern pitchers are ERA leader Anthony Ranaudo of Portland and Binghamton's Logan Verrett, the league's only eight-win hurler.

Bowie is the West's largest contributor with six players named to the team, though pitcher Jason Gurka is on the disabled list and will not participate in the game. First-place Harrisburg and Richmond are sending five players each, Erie and Akron four apiece and Altoona three.

Leading the way for the West is Bowie outfielder Henry Urrutia, who leads the league with a .366 batting average and RBI leader (with 57) Jesus Aguilar of Akron. Erie shortstop Hernan Perez, second in the league with 19 stolen bases, will set the table.

On the mound, the West features league strikeout leader Jesse Biddle of Reading. The left-hander has fanned 91 batters over 79 1/3 innings in the first half of the season and is holding EL hitters to a .190 average.

Position Players      
Josmil Pinto* C New Britain MIN
Christian Vazquez C Portland BOS
Allen Dykstra* 1B Binghamton NYM
Albert Cartwright 2B Reading PHI
Michael Almanzar* 3B Portland BOS
Josh Rodriguez 3B Binghamton NYM
Kevin Nolan* SS New Hampshire TOR
Danny Santana SS New Britain MIN
Tyler Austin* OF Trenton NYY
Ramon Flores OF Trenton NYY
Brad Glenn OF New Hampshire TOR
Daniel Ortiz OF New Britain MIN
Cesar Puello OF Binghamton NYM
Jim Murphy* DH Reading PHI
A.J. Achter*^ RHP New Britain MIN
Jesse Biddle* LHP Reading PHI
Drake Britton LHP Portland BOS
Edgar Ibarra LHP New Britain MIN
Tommy Kahnle RHP Trenton NYY
Trevor May RHP New Britain MIN
Sean Nolin^ LHP New Hampshire TOR
Anthony Ranaudo* RHP Portland BOS
Nik Turley LHP Trenton NYY
Logan Verrett RHP Binghamton NYM
Marcus Walden RHP New Hampshire TOR
Jeff Walters RHP Binghamton NYM

* - Denotes fan balloting selection ^ - Player will not be participating in game

Position Players      
Caleb Joseph C Bowie BAL
James McCann* C Erie DET
Jesus Aguilar* 1B Akron CLE
Jarek Cunningham* 2B Altoona PIT
Ty Kelly* 3B Bowie BAL
Mark Minicozzi 3B Richmond SF
Joe Panik 2B Richmond SF
Hernan Perez SS Erie DET
Niuman Romero SS Bowie BAL
Javier Herrera OF Richmond SF
Carlos Moncrief OF Akron CLE
Steven Souza Jr. OF Harrisburg WAS
Brian Goodwin** OF Harrisburg WAS
Andrew Susac* DH Richmond SF
Aaron Barrett* RHP Harrisburg WAS
Paul Demny RHP Harrisburg WAS
Jose Flores* RHP Akron CLE
Jason Gurka^ LHP Bowie BAL
Taylor Jordan RHP Harrisburg WAS
Matt Packer LHP Akron CLE
Edwin Quirarte RHP Richmond SF
Casey Sadler RHP Altoona PIT
Warwick Saupold*^ RHP Erie DET
Jack Snodgrass* LHP Richmond SF
Will Startup LHP Erie DET
Jameson Taillon* RHP Altoona PIT
Mike Wright* RHP Bowie BAL

* - Denotes fan balloting selection
** - denotes player who replaced the promoted Henry Urrutia (Bowie) and Josh Johnson (Harrisburg) on the roster. ^ - Player will not be participating in game

John Parker is a contributor to