Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Curley, Anderson lead Carolina stars

MVP award goes to Dash slugger for third straight season
August 28, 2013

The Class A Advanced Carolina League announced its postseason All-Star Team and award winners on Thursday, with the circuit's Most Valuable Player award going to a Winston-Salem Dash slugger for the third straight year.

Dash infielder Chris Curley, who leads the league with 24 homers and 90 RBIs, was named league MVP. He follows in the footsteps of Winston-Salem's Dan Black and Ian Gac, who won the award in 2012 and 2011, respectively.

Indians prospect Cody Anderson of the Carolina Mudcats was honored as the league's top pitcher. The 22-year-old right-hander, who was promoted to Double-A Akron on Aug. 14, led the loop with a 2.34 ERA in 23 starts for the Mudcats. Anderson was also the recipient of the league's Matt Minker Community Service Award, which was announced Wednesday.

Myrtle Beach skipper Jason Wood was named Manager of the Year. Wood led the Pelicans to the first-half Southern Division title this season and has guided the club to the postseason in each of his three years in Myrtle Beach. The Pelicans currently own a 74-60 record, second-best in the league.

The league's 13-man All-Star team features a curious split, with the circuit's top team, Potomac (Nationals), and last-place team, Carolina (Indians), each contributing three players. Myrtle Beach (Rangers) and Lynchburg (Braves) feature two All-Stars apiece while Frederick (Orioles), Salem (Red Sox) and Winston-Salem (White Sox) each have one representative. Wilmington (Royals) was shut out.

2013 Carolina League Postseason All-Star Team
Position Players      
Michael Ohlman C Frederick BAL
Trever Adams 1B Myrtle Beach TEX
Rougned Odor 2B Myrtle Beach TEX
Chris Curley* 3B Winston-Salem CWS
Francisco Lindor SS Carolina CLE
Joe Wendle UTIL IF Carolina CLE
Billy Burns OF Potomac WAS
Keury De La Cruz OF Salem BOS
Michael Taylor OF Potomac WAS
David Rohm UTIL OF Lynchburg ATL
Robby Hefflinger DH Lynchburg ATL
Cody Anderson** SP Carolina CLE
Robert Benincasa RP Potomac WAS
Jason Wood MGR Myrtle Beach TEX

* Most Valuable Player
** Pitcher of the Year

John Parker is an editor for