Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

E-Twins headline Appy League All-Stars

Top player, pitcher, manager hail from first-place Elizabethton
August 22, 2014

The rookie-level Appalachian League named its 2014 All-Star Team on Friday, with the first-place Elizabethton Twins claiming the circuit's Player, Pitcher and Manager of the Year awards.

Despite playing in just 35 Appy League games before his promotion to full-season Cedar Rapids, outfielder Max Murphy was named Player of the Year. A ninth-round pick by the Twins out of Bradley University in June, Murphy hit .378/.483/.723 with 10 home runs and 26 RBIs for the E-Twins. Though his last Appy League game came on July 27, Murphy is still tied for the circuit's home run lead. The 21-year-old Minnesota native no longer qualifies for the batting crown -- fellow All-Star Carlton Tanabe of Pulaski is currently in the lead with a .326 mark.

Elizabethton teammate Felix Jorge, also the league's top right-hander, was named Pitcher of the Year. Jorge, a 20-year-old Dominican native, is 4-2 with a 2.08 ERA that ranks second in the league. He's fanned 50, walked 13 and allowed one home run in 56 1/3 innings over 10 starts.

Joining them is Elizabethton stalwart Ray Smith, who was named Manager of the Year for a seventh time. Smith is in his 21st season as E-Twins manager -- the first was in 1987 -- and his teams have won seven Appalachian League titles. The last time a Twins club under Smith's guidance posted a losing record was in 1988.

Twins first-round pick (fifth overall) Nick Gordon was also named to the All-Star squad as utility infielder. Pulaski led the way with four players chosen, including Tanabe, outfielders Arby Fields and Estarlyn Morales and reliever Trey Cochran-Gill. Greeneville, Burlington and Princeton were shut out, despite the P-Rays currently owning the best record in the league at 33-25.

The full list of Appy League All-Stars:

Daniel Arribas C Bristol PIT
Carlton Tanabe 1B Pulaski SEA
Casey Turgeon 2B Johnson City STL
Jordan Edgerton 3B Danville ATL
Richard Urena SS Bluefield TOR
Nick Gordon UT INF Elizabethton MIN
Casey Grayson DH Johnson City STL
Max Murphy* OF Elizabethton MIN
Estarlyn Morales OF Pulaski SEA
Arby Fields OF Pulaski SEA
Wuilmer Becerra UT OF Kingsport NYM
Felix Jorge RHP Elizabethton MIN
Matt Smoral LHP Bluefield TOR
Trey Cochran-Gill Reliever Pulaski SEA
Ray Smith Manager Elizabethton MIN
* Player of the Year
† Pitcher of the Year

John Parker is an editor for