Suwinski and Greene Homer in Peoria

By Fort Wayne TinCaps | July 15, 2017 11:28 PM ET

PEORIA, Ill. - The TinCaps' five-game winning streak came to an end on Saturday night at Dozer Park in a 4-3 loss to the Peoria Chiefs (St. Louis Cardinals). 

After the first nine batters of the game were retired in order, Chiefs (14-9, 44-48) first baseman Ryan McCarvel opened the scoring with a solo home run to left field in the bottom of the second against Mason Thompson (L).

McCarvel struck again with two outs in the third, belting a two-run double to left that made it 3-0. Peoria increased its lead to 4-0 with an unearned, two-out run in the fourth. 

Midwest League All-Star Mike O'Reilly (W) stymied the TinCaps (15-8, 41-52) through the first four innings, allowing only one base runner through his first 4 2/3 innings. All of a sudden though in the top of the fifth, he walked designated hitter Marcus Greene Jr. on four pitches and then surrendered a two-run homer to right fielder Jack Suwinski . For Suwinski, it was his sixth home run of the season--his first since June 18--and that made it 4-2. The 18-year-old set a season high for hits, going 3-for-4. 

Greene got Fort Wayne within a run, 4-3, in the seventh as he clubbed a solo homer to left off O'Reilly. 

But the Chiefs gave the ball to a pair of 25-year-olds (the average age in the Midwest League is 21) to hang on. Although the TinCaps put the tying run on in the seventh, eighth, and ninth, Max Almonte pitched a scoreless eighth and Eric Carter (S) closed it out in the ninth. 

Will Headean , who grew up about 10 minutes away from Dozer Park, threw three scoreless innings of relief and struck out six--a high for him as a reliever. Blake Rogers also tossed a scoreless inning of relief to help keep the TinCaps within striking distance. 

Next Game

Sunday, July 16 @ Peoria (3 p.m.)

- TinCaps Probable Starter: RH Ronald Bolanos

- Chiefs Probable Starter: RH Anthony Shew

Listen: ESPN Radio 1380 & 100.9 FM,, TuneIn

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More