Bill Menton All-Tournment Team

16th Annual BayBears High School Baseball Classic All-Tournament Team

March 6, 2013 6:18 AM ET

The BayBears are excited to announce: 
 16th Annual BayBears High School Baseball Classic 
2013 Bill Menton  All-Tournament Team 
A standout player from each team participating in the tournament 
is selected to represent their high school. 
History of the Bill Menton All-Tournament Team: 
Starting with the 2010 edition of the BayBears High School Classic, the All-Tournament Team --- which consists of at least one player from all 24 teams --- has been renamed for distinguished Mobilian Bill Menton. Menton, a native of Irvington, Ala., was the original voice of the old Mobile Bears.
The 2013 Bill Menton All-Tournament Team:
B.C. Rain- Elijah Cooks
Theodore- Chad Peters
McGill-Toolen- Andrew Mahoney
Faith Academy- Jae Skoda
Cottage Hill Christian- Johnathan Williams
Daphne- Adam Daniel
Murphy- Darius Johnson
Foley- Patrick Grumbley 
Baldwin County- JT Solter
Spanish Fort- Brian Lane
Fairhope- Dre Chaney
St. Luke's- Murphy Mastellar
MGM- Phillip Finney
Baker- Brett Glover
Gulf Shores- Matt Walters
Mobile Christian- Chris Brown
Alma Bryant- Hayden Roberts
Cintronelle- Dossie Rivers
Robertsdale- Taylor Garrison
Bayside- Hunter Slater 
Satsuma- Cody Threlkeld
Saraland- Joseph Barnett
UMS- Gunner Roach
Davidson- MJ Morrissette
2013 BayBears Classic Awards
2013 Jake Peavy MVP Award:
This award is named after the San Diego Padres' star pitcher Jake Peavy. The former St. Paul Saint and Mobile BayBear took part in the 1999 edition of the Hank Aaron Classic. This award is given to the MVP of the tournament.
2013 Recipient: McGill-Toolen's Andrew Mahoney 
Chris Boyette Silver Slugger Award:
The Sliver Slugger Award is named after the Fairhope High School All-American, Chris Boyett, who tragically died in a car accident. The BayBears make a $500 donation to the Chris Boyett Scholarship Fund in the name of the winner of the award each season. Every year, this award is presented to the top offensive player in the Hank Aaron Classic.
2013 Recipient: Faith Academy's Jae Skoda


Larry Andrews Pitching Award:

The Larry Andrews Pitcher Award is named in memory of the late Baker High School baseball coach, Larry Andrews. This award is presented to the top pitcher in the tournament.

2013 Recipient: McGill-Toolen's Nathan Skipper 



Joe Toomey Coach's Award:

This award is named in honor of former Vigor High School baseball coach, Joe Toomey. The Joe Toomey Coach's Award is give to the coach whose team displays excellent teamwork and sportsmanship.

2013 Recipient: Fairhope's Head Coach Stu Fuller


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More