Rosters Announced for 2018 Carolina League All-Star Classic

The Carolina League All-Star Classic presented by US Foods® is on June 19 in Zebulon

By Carolina Mudcats | June 11, 2018 12:06 PM

ZEBULON, N.C. - In conjunction with Carolina League president Geoff Lassiter, the Carolina Mudcats are proud to announce the rosters for the 2018 Carolina League All-Star Classic presented by US Foods®, scheduled to be played on Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at Five County Stadium in Zebulon, North Carolina, home of the Carolina Mudcats.

The Carolina League's top pitcher, LHP Cam Roegner is one of four Mudcats represented on the Southern Division roster. He is joined by fellow Carolina players in RHP Marcos Diplan , INF Tucker Neuhaus and C Max McDowell who leads all of Minor League Baseball in caught stealing this season.

The Down East Wood Ducks will supply a Southern Division high six players, including RHP Edgar Arredondo , INF Andretty Cordero , INF Chuck Leblanc, INF Anderson Tejeda , OF Leody Taveras and LHP C.D. Pelham .

The Winston-Salem Dash placed five players including RHP Dylan Cease , LHP Bernardo Flores , RHP Matt Foster , OF Luis Basabe and OF Joel Booker . LHP Brett Adcock , RHP Brandon Bielak , OF Ronnie Dawson and DH Abraham Toro are among the four Buies Creek Astros named to the this year's squad. The Myrtle Beach Pelicans will be represented by INF Aramis Ademan , C Johnny Pereda and RHP Tyler Peyton .

Players also named to the initial Southern Division roster, but unable to participate due to recent promotions include INF Keston Hiura (Carolina Mudcats), RHP Trey Supak (Carolina Mudcats), RHP Matt Swarmer (Myrtle Beach Pelicans) and RHP Jonathan Hernandez (Down East Wood Ducks).

The Southern Division team will be led by the Carolina Mudcats field staff, including manager Joe Ayrault, pitching coach Bob Milacki, hitting coach Bobby Bell, coach Edwin Maysonet , strength coach Jonah Mergen and athletic trainer Jeff Bodenhamer.

The Potomac Nationals placed a Northern Division leading six players to the squad, including C Tres Barrera , OF Carter Keiboom, OF Jake Noll and RHP Will Crowe, RHP Tyler Mapes and RHP Sterling Sharp .

The Salem Red Sox will also be well represented in this year's All-Star Classic with five players making the Northern Division team including RHP Matthew Gorst , RHP Daniel Gonzalez , C Roldani Baldwin , INF Jerry Downs and DH Santiago Espinal .

The Carolina League's top hitter, OF Ryan McKenna , is one of four Frederick Keys to earn a mid-season All-Star nod. He will be joined by teammates RHP Cristian Alvarado , LHP Alex Wells and NC State standout OF Preston Palmeiro . Another local product in Fuquay-Varina star D.J. Burt is one of four Wilmington Blue Rocks on the Northen Division roster. Burt will man the Northern Division outfield and is joined by Wilmington teammates OF Khalil Lee , OF Kort Peterson and league saves leader RHP Bryan Brickhouse .

The Lynchburg Hillcats will supply the field staff for the Northern Division team with manager Rougie Odor leading the way. He will be joined by pitching coach Tom Arnold, hitting coach Justin Toole , bench coach Grant Fink , strength and conditioning coordinator Eric Ortega and athletic trainer Bobby Ruiz. The Hillcats additionally placed three players to the team including LHP Sam Hentges , RHP Dalbert Siri and OF Conner Capel.


Adcock, Brett Buies Creek
Arredondo, Edgar Down East
Bielak, Brandon Buies Creek
Cease, Dylan Winston-Salem
Diplán, Marcos Carolina
Flores, Bernardo Winston-Salem
Foster, Matt Winston-Salem
Hernandez, Jonathan* Down East
Pelham, C.D. Down East
Peyton, Tyler Myrtle Beach
Roegner, Cam Carolina
Supak, Trey* Carolina
Swarmer, Matt* Myrtle Beach
McDowell, Max Carolina
Pereda, Jhonny Myrtle Beach
Ademan, Aramis Myrtle Beach
Cordero, Andretty Down East
Hiura, Keston* Carolina
Leblanc, Chuck Down East
Neuhaus, Tucker Carolina
Tejeda, Anderson Down East
Basabe, Luis Alexander Winston-Salem
Booker, Joel Winston-Salem
Dawson, Ronnie Buies Creek
Taveras, Leody Down East
Toro, Abraham Buies Creek
*Named to initial Southern Division roster, but unable to participate.



Alvarado, Cristian Frederick
Brickhouse, Bryan Wilmington
Crowe, Will Potomac
Gonzalez, Daniel Salem
Gorst, Matthew Salem
Hentges, Sam Lynchburg
Mapes, Tyler Potomac
Sharp, Sterling Potomac
Siri, Dalbert Lynchburg
Wells, Alex Frederick
Baldwin, Roldani Salem
Barrera, Tres Potomac
Burt, D.J. Wilmington
Downs, Jerry Salem
Kieboom, Carter Potomac
Noll, Jake Potomac
Palmerio, Preston Frederick
Capel, Conner Lynchburg
Lee, Khalil Wilmington
McKenna, Ryan Frederick
Peterson, Kort Wilmington
Espinal, Santiago Salem

The initial roster is subject to change and will be updated as player transactions occur due to promotion, trade, or injury. Votes were collected from field managers, team general managers and local media for all 10 Carolina League clubs.

The 2018 Carolina League All-Star Classic presented by US Foods® is scheduled to begin at approximately 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 19 at Five County Stadium. The game will be preceded by an event hosted by the Miracle League of the Triangle, beginning at 6:15 p.m. Country music artist Jason Michael Carroll will perform the National Anthem. In game entertainment will be feature the ZOOperstars from "America's Got Talent" and BirdZerk. The game will be followed by a post-game fireworks show.

Individual game tickets begin at just $13 and are available at, by calling (919) 269-2287 (CATS) and available at the Five County Stadium front office in Zebulon, NC.

The Carolina Mudcats are the proud Carolina League, Class-A Advanced affiliate of the Milwaukee Brewers. First established in 1991, the two-time Southern League Champion Mudcats are entering their 28th consecutive season of baseball at Five County Stadium in Zebulon, N.C. The 2018 season marks the first for the Mudcats under the ownership of the Milwaukee Brewers organization. This season will also feature the Mudcats as the host of the 2018 Carolina League All-Star Classic presented by US Foods®, scheduled for Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at Five County Stadium.

# # #

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More