Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

League History

The Pioneer Baseball League is a short-season, professional minor league with teams in Idaho, Montana, Utah and Wyoming. The Billings Mustangs, Great Falls Voyagers, Helena Brewers, and Missoula Osprey comprise our Northern Division. Our Southern Division includes the Casper Ghosts, Idaho Falls Chukars, Ogden Raptors and Orem Owlz.

Over the course of the season, each team will play 76 games in a split schedule. In the playoffs, first-half division winners will play second-half division winners in best-of-three series. Then the division playoff winners will meet for a final best-of-three series.

The Pioneer Baseball League is classified Rookie Advanced. This makes us a starting place for players beginning their professional careers. Each team is limited to a roster of 35 active players, with no more than 30 players in uniform for each game. Our Player Eligibility Rule states that no more than 17 of the 35 active players may be 21 or older, provided that no more than two of the 17 are 23 or older. Also, no player on the Active List may have more than three years prior service.

Our statistician is Major League Baseball Advanced Media. Our brand of baseball is Rawlings.

Pioneer League History