2016 Travs Schedule & 10 Years at DSP

Opening Night 2016 is scheduled for Thursday, April 7th vs. Midland. The Travs are also home on July 4th!

Dickey-Stephens Park will celebrate its tenth birthday in 2016 after opening its gates on April 12, 2007.

By Staff / Arkansas Travelers | October 11, 2015 5:22 PM


Click Here for a printable 2016 Travs schedule


Little Rock, AR - The Arkansas Travelers unveiled, Monday, the 2016 regular season schedule featuring a season-opening series vs. the 2015 Texas League Champion Midland RockHounds and a home game on July 4th.

Opening Night 2016 is scheduled for Thursday, April 7 at 7:10 p.m., kicking off a six-game homestand. The opening week homestand concludes with the first of two Kids Day morning games, both scheduled for 11:00 a.m. on Tuesday, April 12 and Wednesday, May 4. The Travs will be home for July 4th with a 5:30 p.m. scheduled first pitch vs. Midland followed by the annual Downtown Fireworks Show. Faith and Family Night returns in 2016 with an earlier date, scheduled for Saturday, June 11 at 5:30 p.m. vs. Northwest Arkansas. The regular season home finale is scheduled for Friday, September 2 vs. Springfield, and Arkansas will conclude the 2016 regular season on the road at Northwest Arkansas over Labor Day Weekend.

For a seventh straight year, the Arkansas Razorbacks baseball team will play a home game at Dickey-Stephens Park. The Hogs will take on Louisiana Monroe on Tuesday, April 12 with first pitch scheduled for 6:35 p.m.

2016 also marks the tenth season of Arkansas Travelers baseball at Dickey-Stephens Park. After historic Ray Winder Field closed its gates in September of 2006, the Arkansas Travelers moved into newly constructed Dickey-Stephens Park in April of 2007.

"We are very fortunate to have such a beautiful home," said Arkansas Travelers General Manager Paul Allen. "Dickey-Stephens Park is one of the premier facilities in all of Minor League Baseball and it's hard to believe we are entering our tenth season already. It is a great tribute to our Park Superintendent Greg Johnston and his staff that the park still feels brand new. This year we celebrate our tenth season and look forward to the next 10."

History at Dickey-Stephens Park:

The first-ever Travs game at Dickey-Stephens Park was played on April 12, 2007 vs. Frisco with the RoughRiders winning 6-5 in front of a sell-out crowd of 7,943. Trailing by five entering the bottom of the ninth inning, Travs outfielder Curtis Pride belted a three-run home run, the first in Dickey-Stephens Park history, to cut the deficit to one, but Arkansas fell just short of completing the comeback.

On April 30, 2010, RHP Ryan Brasier tossed a complete-game nine-inning no-hitter for the Travs, the first and still the only in Dickey-Stephens Park history in a 4-0 win over Tulsa.

The Arkansas Travelers hosted the 2014 Texas League All-Star Game at Dickey-Stephens Park, with the North winning 3-1 over the South. Current Major Leaguers Alec Asher (PHI), Cam Bedrosian (LAA), Delino DeShields (TEX), Taylor Featherston (LAA), Jon Gray (COL), and Jake Smolinski (OAK) each played in the game.

Arkansas has made the playoffs in five of its first nine seasons at Dickey-Stephens Park, including each of the last three seasons and won the 2008 Texas League Championship.

Notable Arkansas Travelers who have played at Dickey-Stephens Park:

2007: Sean Rodriguez, Bobby Wilson, Darren O'Day

2008: Mark Trumbo, Kevin Jepsen, Fernando Rodriguez, Francisco Rodriguez

2009: Peter Bourjos, Hank Conger, Jeremy Hill, Alex Torres, Jordan Walden

2010: Alexi Amarista, Efren Navarro, Steve Geltz

2011: Mike Trout, Garrett Richards, Matt Shoemaker

2012: Jean Segura

2013: C.J. Cron, Randal Grichuk, Mike Morin, Michael Roth

2015: Trevor Gott

Dickey-Stephens Park was also the home of the Mayflower vs. Vilonia storm relief fundraiser game on May 6, 2014. With free admission for the game between both town's baseball teams, over $129,000 was raised to help families rebuild from the devastating tornado. Over 8,000 people attended the game to support the cause.  


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More