Grichuk Amongst MiLB Gold Glove Winners

By Arkansas Travelers | October 1, 2013 11:04 AM

  ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -Minor League Baseball™ and Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., today announced that Arkansas Travelers outfielder Randal Grichuk was awarded a 2013 Minor League Baseball Gold Glove. The honorees were selected among qualifying players from the 10 domestic-based, full-season Minor Leagues. They will each receive their own Rawlings Gold Glove Award, modeled after the iconic award given to Major League Baseball's top defensive players, during the 2014 season.

   Grichuk appeared in 118 games in the field with 95 played in right field and 23 games in centerfield. The 22-year old from Rosenberg, Texas, only committed two errors while throwing out 11 runners. Grichuk also tied for the Texas League lead amongst outfielders by participating in five double plays.

   Grichuk joins Darwin Perez (2011, shortstop) as the second Traveler to win a Rawling Minor League Gold Glove since the award was reinstituted in 2011.

   "Since 1957, Rawlings has celebrated defensive excellence at the highest levels of professional baseball" said Mike Thompson, senior vice president of marketing for St. Louis-based Rawlings. "Every organization should be proud to have a Minor League Baseball Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner in their system."

   "I know what an honor it is for a player to receive a Rawlings Gold Glove Award, having been involved in presenting them to the winners the last two years," said Pat O'Conner, President & CEO of Minor League Baseball. "The players really appreciate and understand how prestigious the accolade is and I want to thank Rawlings Sporting Goods for their continued support of Minor League Baseball."

   The 2013 Minor League Baseball recipients of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award are as follows:

Position       Name                    Club(s)/Major League Baseball Organization

P                  Taylor Hill                Potomac, Harrisburg, Syracuse/Washington

C                 Blake Forsythe                   Binghamton/New York Mets

1B                Jordan Lennerton      Toledo/Detroit

2B                Carlos Alonso                    Clearwater/Philadelphia

SS                Nick Ahmed             Mobile/Arizona

3B                Wade Gaynor                    Erie/Detroit

LF                Jason Krizan            Lakeland/Detroit

CF                Dalton Pompey        Lansing/Toronto

RF                Randal Grichuk         Arkansas/Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

   The return of Rawlings recognizing Minor League Baseball players for their defensive prowess began again in 2011.   The St. Louis-based company named a Minor League all-star fielding team for several years in the 1960s. The honor was known as the Rawlings Silver Glove Award during this time. 

   Five players who were honored last year, Adam Warren (Yankees), Josh Phegley (White Sox), Derrick Robinson (Reds), Engel Beltre (Rangers) and Marcell Ozuna (Marlins) are in the major leagues. Another quintet of major leaguers, Efren Navarro (Angels), Steve Lombardozzi (Nationals), Brandon Laird (Astros), Jordan Danks (White Sox) and Cole Gillespie (Cubs)        were among those honored in 2011. 


About Rawlings

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes from the sandlot to the pros. Rawlings' unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more athletes choose Rawlings, and why Rawlings is the Official Batting Helmet and Ball Supplier of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More