Early lead slips away quickly in BayBears loss

Home runs for Houchins and Arakawa, but Smokies explode for 10 runs

By Mobile BayBears | July 14, 2017 11:08 PM ET

KODAK, Tenn. (July 14, 2017) - The Mobile BayBears, the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, grabbed an early 1-0 lead but dropped the second game of the series 10-4 to the Tennessee Smokies Friday night at Smokies Stadium.

The BayBears (40-50 overall, 10-11 second half) plated an early run in the top of the first inning. Michael Hermosillo and Matt Thaiss singled, and then David Fletcher plated Hermosillo on a fielder's choice. However, the lead was short-lived.

Tennessee (50-41, 14-8) scored four runs in the second inning and three more in the third against Jake Jewell (5-6) to take a 7-1 lead. Despite solo home runs by Zach Houchins in the fourth and Tim Arakawa in the seventh, the BayBears could not climb back from the six-run deficit.

Trey Martin and Daniel Spingola both had four hits, and Yasiel Balaguert went 3-for-4 with two RBI to lead the Smokies. Zach Hedges (7-5) earned the win with a quality start, allowing three runs on eight hits in seven innings pitched with a pair of walks and a strikeout.

The BayBears continue the five-game road series against Tennessee Saturday at 6:00 p.m. CT. Live coverage can be seen on MiLB.tv (Tennessee feed, subscription required, promo code: BAYBEARS) and heard on the BayBears Broadcast Network, the TuneIn Radio App, and the MiLB First Pitch App, with the Countdown to First Pitch starting at 5:40 p.m. CT.

The BayBears return home Wednesday, July 19, and host a total of 70 home dates through Labor Day, September 4. Single-game tickets and ticket packages are currently on sale. Season tickets and group and hospitality offerings for the 2017 season can be reserved by calling (251) 479-BEAR (2327).

About the Mobile BayBears

The Mobile BayBears are the Double-A affiliate of the Los Angeles of Anaheim and play their games at Hank Aaron Stadium in Mobile, Alabama. The BayBears were founded in 1997 and have won four Southern League titles in 1998, 2004, 2011, and 2012. Additionally, the 1998 and 2011 championship squads were named Minor League Team of the Year by Baseball America. More than 160 former BayBears have reached the Major League level, including All-Stars Max Scherzer, Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Peavy, Carlos Gonzalez, and Justin Upton. For more information on the Mobile BayBears and Hank Aaron Stadium, please visit MobileBayBears.com, call (251) 479-BEAR (2327), or contact Steve Goldberg via email at Steve@MobileBayBears.com.


This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More