July 4 crowd of 13,466 at Chukchansi Park watch Grizzlies shutout Tacoma

18th-largest attendance in franchise history; fifth crowd over 10,000 this season is best of 2019 so far

By Fresno Grizzlies | July 4, 2019 1:51 AM

Fresno, California (Thursday, July 4) - A raucous crowd of 13,466 witnessed the Fresno Grizzlies (45-42) defeat the Tacoma Rainiers (41-46) 3-0 at Chukchansi Park on Independence Day. It was the fifth shutout this year by Fresno pitching and the fourth where Kyle McGowin (7-2) received the nod. The righty hurled a season-high seven innings, fanning seven. He won his sixth consecutive start as well in the process.

Matt Reynolds, Wilmer Difo and Carter Kieboom helped McGowin's gem with multi-bag RBI. Reynolds rocketed a solo shot to left field in the bottom of the eighth. It was his 11th homer of the 2019 campaign. Difo and Kieboom nailed back-to-back extra base knocks in the fifth. Difo laced a triple to right and Kieboom followed with a double in the same location as his teammate.

Michael Blazek and Derek Self concluded the contest with two perfect frames. Blazek punched out a pair while Self secured his seventh save. Jake Noll added two hits in the victory for the Grizzlies. Rainiers starter Andrew Moore (0-1) suffered the decision after six solid innings. Tacoma right fielder Jaycob Brugman enjoyed a pair of hits, one for a double.


Top Performers: Fresno Grizzlies (Washington Nationals)

• RHP Kyle McGowin (7.0 IP, 5 H, 0 R, 1 BB, 7 K)

• DH Matt Reynolds (1-2, HR, RBI, R, BB)

• SS Wilmer Difo (2-4, 3B, RBI, R)

• 2B Carter Kieboom (1-2, 2B, RBI, 2 BB)


Top Performers: Tacoma Rainiers (Seattle Mariners)

• RF Jaycob Brugman (2-4, 2B)

• RHP Andrew Moore (6.0 IP, 6 H, 2 R, 2 ER, 3 BB, 3 K)

• 3B Chris Mariscal (1-3)


ON THAT FRES-NOTE: It was the second straight July 4th shutout for Fresno as Mike Hauschild threw up a zero against Las Vegas in 2018. The Grizzlies won 5-0 in the contest. Taylor Jones also homered like Matt Reynolds did in the home half of the eighth.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More