2013 Ziegfest Battle of the Bands Finalists Announced

By Corpus Christi Hooks | September 25, 2013 7:13 AM ET

CORPUS CHRISTI - After 10 days of online balloting that garnered nearly 20,000 votes, the Ziegfest Battle of the Bands finalists have been determined.

No Vacancy, Jake Ward and the Coast Riders (The Elise), Costello and Independent Thieves duke it out next Wednesday, October 2 at Brewster Street IceHouse for the right to open Ziegfest 2013 at Whataburger Field.

Doors open at 8 p.m. and the competition begins an hour later.

Wednesday's winner also returns to Brewster Street to play the post-concert party following the October 25th festival.

 "Corpus Christi and the surrounding area is filled with talented musicians," Ziegfest producer Casey Lain said. "The Battle of the Bands at Brewster Street IceHouse offers a great opportunity for South Texas musicians to be a part of this stellar event. Including local and regional entertainers is important to Ziegfest and a competition like this is a cool and exciting way to involve them and their fans."

Every person who purchases a $5 admission to the live battle of the bands will be issued one ticket for voting. Purchase tickets at the door on the night of October 2 or in advance at brewsterstreet.net

Presented by Ziegenbock, Ziegfest returns to the home of the Corpus Christi Hooks for the fourth straight fall.

Headliner Kevin FowlerCasey Donahew Band , Reckless Kelly and Uncle Lucius are on the bill.

Fans can purchase tickets to the festival at whataburgerfield.com, by calling 361-561-4665 or visiting the ballpark box office during business hours.

General Admission tickets cost $15, VIP Pit accommodations $30.

The Corpus Christi Caller-Times, K-99 and KIII-TV3 are media partners.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More