Brown, Wood and Sean Rodriguez Headline Returnees

Major League Talent Makes a Home in Salt Lake City

Infielder Brandon Wood, the 2005 Minor League Baseball Player of the Year, returns to Salt Lake for the 2009 season. (Brent Asay)

By Salt Lake Bees | April 6, 2009 8:41 AM ET

SALT LAKE CITY - The Salt Lake Bees today released the 24-man roster for opening day of the 2009 Pacific Coast League season.

"The Angels farm system finished with the third-best overall record in Major League Baseball last season and the club has once again provided us with a highly-talented group of players," said Salt Lake Bees general manager Marc Amicone. "We encourage Bees fans to come experience major league talent right here in Salt Lake City."

On the mound, Salt Lake returns five pitchers who saw action for the Bees a year ago, including 2008 Angels Minor League Pitcher of the Year Anthony Ortega. The right-handed hurler went 5-0 with a 2.52 ERA in six games for the Bees last season.

In the infield, Salt Lake will once again feature 2005 Minor League Baseball Player of the Year Brandon Wood. Alongside Wood, the Bees return PCL All-Star and 2008 Beijing Olympian Matt Brown. They are joined by Angels top prospect Sean Rodriguez and 2008 Angels Minor League Player of the Year Freddy Sandoval.

Reggie Willits, an Angels record setter as a rookie in 2007, will begin the 2009 season in the Bees outfield. 2008 Bees stolen base leader Brad Coon, slugging 2007 PCL All-Star Terry Evans and newcomer to Triple-A, Chris Pettit, round out the outfield staff. Behind the plate, Salt Lake has big league experience in both Ryan Budde and Bobby Wilson to begin the season.

The Salt Lake Bees begin the 2009 PCL season at home against the Reno Aces on Thursday, April 9 at 6:35 p.m. (MST). For more information about Bees season tickets, which start as low as $7 per game, please call (801) 325-BEES or visit


Davidson, Daniel L-L

Denham, Dan R-R

Knox, Brad R-R

MacDonald, Mike R-R

Ortega, Anthony R-R

Palmer, Matt R-R

Peguero, Jailen R-R

Rodriguez, Fernando R-R

Rodriguez, Francisco R-R

Rodriguez, Rafael R-R

Thompson, Richard R-R

Wilhite, Matt R-R


Budde, Ryan R-R

Wilson, Bobby R-R


Brown, Matt R-R

Figueroa, Luis B-R

Pavkovich, Adam R-R

Rodriguez, Sean R-R

Sandoval, Freddy B-R

Wood, Brandon R-R


Coon, Bradley L-L

Evans, Terry R-R

Pettit, Chris R-R

Willits, Reggie B-R

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More