Loons, Kernels top MWL All-Stars

Sands, Trout to lead formidable offenses June 22

Cedar Rapids' Mike Trout has given pitchers fits all season with his bat and legs. (Paul R. Gierhart/MiLB.com)

By Brendon Desrochers / MLB.com | June 8, 2010 12:17 PM

The Midwest League announced its East and West Division All-Star teams on Tuesday, and there will be no shortage of young stars at Fort Wayne's Parkview Field on June 22.

The Western Division All-Stars are led by a triumvirate of terrific hiting prospects. Burlington catcher Wil Myers (Royals), Beloit outfielder Aaron Hicks (Twins) and Angels outfielder Mike Trout (Angels) should give the West a formidable attack. Trout, a 2009 first-round pick, has been especially good this season, leading the league in batting average (.366), stolen bases (31), hits (79), on-base percentage (.444) and runs scored (49).

Great Lakes Loons outfielder Jerry Sands (Dodgers) heads the Eastern Division batsmen. Sands leads the Midwest League in just about every offensive category that Trout doesn't. The 2008 25th-round pick is first in home runs (16), slugging percentage (.688), extra-base hits (33) and total bases (139) and is tied for first in RBIs (39). Lake County Captain Chun-Hsiu Chen (Indians), who is second to Sands in slugging and second to Eastern Division teammate Matt Davidson (D-backs) of South Bend in doubles, will also give the East Lineup a boost.

Each team's pitching staff has at least one 2009 first-round pick on its roster. For the West, it is Jake Odorizzi (2-1, 3.81) of Wisconsin, the 32nd overall pick by the Brewers. For the East, there's Jacob Turner (1-3, 4.01) from West Michigan, the player Detroit made the ninth overall pick in June, as well as Lansing's Chad Jenkins (4-4, 3.48), whom the Blue Jays selected 20th overall.

Cedar Rapids' Fabio Martinez (3-2, 4.10) leads the Midwest League in strikeouts with 86, and he finds himself on the West roster along with a pair of pitchers sporting sub-2.00 ERAs -- Nick Bucci (3-2, 1.74 ERA) and Trey McNutt (4-0, 1.81). Back East, comeback story Will Savage (6-1, 2.42) of Great Lakes and young lefty Giovanni Soto (4-3, 1.99) of West Michigan are key cogs on a 15-man staff.

Both rosters have 31 players, and a pair of affiliates of Southern California Major League clubs -- Great Lakes (Dodgers) and Cedar Rapids (Angels) -- lead the way with seven representatives each.

The Burlington coaches will direct the West squad, while the host Fort Wayne coaches lead the East. The Bees and TinCaps met in the Midwest League championship series in 2009, with the TinCaps winning in a three-game sweep.

2010 Midwest League All-Star Teams
Eastern Division All-Star Team
Western Division All-Star Team
Alexander Colome RHP Bowling Green Tyler Sample* RHP Burlington
Wilking Rodriguez RHP Bowling Green Kane Holbrooks RHP Beloit
Jerry Sullivan RHP Fort Wayne Bryan Paukovits RHP Burlington
Nick Schumacher RHP Fort Wayne Fabio Martinez RHP Cedar Rapids
Allen Webster RHP Great Lakes Garrett Richards RHP Cedar Rapids
Will Savage RHP Great Lakes Mike Kenney* RHP Cedar Rapids
Luis Vasquez RHP Great Lakes Tyler Skaggs LHP Cedar Rapids
Miles Mikolas* RHP Fort Wayne Brian Moran LHP Clinton
Nick Sarianides RHP Lake County Erasmo Ramirez RHP Clinton
Aaron Loup LHP Lansing Ian Krol LHP Kane County
Eric Smith RHP South Bend Trey McNutt RHP Peoria
Charles Brewer RHP South Bend Connor Hoehn* RHP Kane County
Jacob Turner RHP West Michigan Eric Fornatero RHP Quad Cities
Giovanni Soto LHP West Michigan Jake Odorizzi RHP Wisconsin
Nick Bucci RHP Wisconsin
Starting Position Players
Tyson Van Winkle* C South Bend Wil Myers C Burlington
Jerry Sands 1B Great Lakes Matt Adams 1B Quad Cities
Henry Rodriguez 2B Dayton Ryan Gennett 2B Wisconsin
Chris Owings 3B South Bend Anderson Hidalgo 3B Beloit
Christian Lara SS Great Lakes Hak-Ju Lee SS Peoria
Chris Murrill OF Bowling Green Aaron Hicks OF Beloit
Danny Payne OF Fort Wayne Michael Trout OF Cedar Rapids
Bo Greenwell OF Lake County Khris Davis OF Wisconsin
Vinnie Catricala DH Clinton
Reserve Position Players
Chun-Hsiu Chen C Lake County Max Stassi C Kane County
Nate Freiman INF Fort Wayne Casey Haerther INF Cedar Rapids
Rafael Ynoa INF Great Lakes Jean Segura INF Cedar Rapids
Ryan Schimpf INF Lansing Matt Cerda INF Peoria
Matt Davidson INF South Bend Nick Franklin INF Clinton
Jeudy Valdez* INF Fort Wayne Logan Watkins INF Peoria
Angelo Songco OF Great Lakes D'Marcus Ingram OF Quad Cities
Jose Flores Mgr. Fort Wayne Jim Gabella Mgr. Burlington
Bronswell Patrick Pitching Fort Wayne TBA Pitching Burlington
Tom Tornincasa Batting Fort Wayne Omar Ramirez Batting Burlington
Nate Stewart Trainer Fort Wayne Mark Stubblefield Trainer Burlington
Nick SantaBarbara Strength Fort Wayne Keith Eichas Strength Burlington

* The Midwest League announced on June 15 that Chris Owings will replace the promoted Mark Sobolewski (Lansing) as the starting third baseman for the East. Jeudy Valdez replaces Sobolewski on the roster. Also for the East, Miles Mikolas will replace Trey Haley (Lake County), who is on the disabled list. For the West, Scott Schneider will replace pitcher Tom Stuifbergen (Beloit), who is on the disabled list. Mike Kenney will replace pitcher Jeremy Berg (Cedar Rapids), who has been promoted. On June 16, Chris Kirkland replaced the promoted James Leverton (Peoria) on the West roster. Later on June 16, the Midwest League announced that Tyler Sample will replace Scott Schneider (Quad Cities) and that Connor Hoehn will replace Kirkland. On June 21, Lansing catcher A.J. Jimenez was placed on the DL. He will be replaced on the East roster by Tyson Van Winkle. Lake County catcher Roberto Perez is injured and will not play. Lansing pitcher Chad Jenkins has been promoted.

Brendon Desrochers is an editor for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More