Trout headlines Midwest All-Stars

Angels outfield prospect named MVP, Prospect of the Year

Mike Trout hit .362 in 81 games in the Midwest League. (Brace Hemmelgarn/

By Midwest League | August 24, 2010 3:21 PM ET

BELOIT, Wis. -- Midwest League president George H. Spelius announced the 2010 postseason All-Star roster on Tuesday. The team was selected by the field managers of the 16 Midwest League member clubs.

Former Angels' first-round pick Mike Trout was voted MVP and Prospect of the Year, while Juan Bustabad of Great Lakes, a Dodgers affiliate, was named Manager of the Year.

Trout opened eyes and gained national attention after his showing in Anaheim at the 2010 Futures Game. He tormented Midwest League pitchers during his time with Cedar Rapids, hitting .362 with six homers, 39 RBIs and 45 stolen bases in 81 games before earning a promotion to Class A Advanced Rancho Cucamonga.

Trout hasn't played in the Midwest League since June, but still ranks third in the circuit in steals.

Bustabad has led the Loons to an 81-44 overall record, easily the best mark in the circuit.

"It's exciting anytime you can get that award," Bustabad said after hearing the news at batting practice Tuesday. "It's a big accomplishment and it's by far the biggest award that I've received as a manager."

The selections come two months after the league hosted its annual All-Star Game, which featured five 2009 first-round Draft picks, including West Michigan RHP Jacob Turner (ninth overall), Trout (26th) and Clinton SS Nick Franklin (27th).

Below is the postseason All-Star roster:

1B Matt Adams L/R 6-3/265 8/31/1988 Quad Cities/St. Louis
2B Scooter Gennett L/R 5-9/165 5/1/1990 Wisconsin/Milwaukee
3B Matt Davidson R/R 6-3/225 3/26/1991 South Bend/Arizona
SS Nick Franklin S/R 6-1/175 3/2/1991 Clinton/Seattle
OF Mike Trout R/R 6-1/217 7/7/1991 Cedar Rapids/Los Angeles (AL)
Khris Davis R/R 6-0/195 12/21/1987 Wisconsin/Milwaukee
Brian Cavazos-Galvez R/R 6-0/215 5/17/1987 Great Lakes/Los Angeles (NL)
Blake Smith L/R 6-2/225 12/9/1987 Great Lakes/Los Angeles (NL)
C Jason Hagerty S/R 6-3/220 9/13/1987 Fort Wayne/San Diego
DH Matt Davidson R/R 6-3/225 3/26/1991 South Bend/Arizona
RHSP Erasmo Ramirez R/R 5-11/180 5/2/1990 Clinton/Seattle
LHSP Ian Krol L/L 6-1/170 5/9/1991 Kane County/Oakland
RHRP Yonaya Ortega R/R 6-1/220 11/11/1986 South Bend/Arizona
LHRP Jon Pokorny L/L 6-2/225 4/4/1988 Wisconsin/Milwaukee

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More