Voyagers Just One Win Away

Smith collected his second consecutive four-hit game of the playoffs, driving home 4 RBIs

September 14, 2011 5:06 AM

OGDEN Utah-A power-party pushed the Voyagers past the Raptors, 9-7. Martin Medina hit two solo home runs, and Kevan Smith and Michael Earley both hit homers in the series opening win in game one of the Pioneer League finals on Tuesday evening at Lindquist Field. The Voyagers got at least one run in six of the nine innings to power past the Raptors, and put themselves in a situation where one more win will give the Voyagers their twelfth Pioneer League Championship. Kevan Smith singled home Kyle Eveland to put the Voyagers ahead 8-7 in the 8th inning in a back and forth ballgame that saw five lead changes. Joc Pederson put the Raptors on the board first on a RBI single off of Scott Snodgress that scored Justin Boudreuax. However, the Voyagers wasted no time in coming back, getting back-to-back solo home runs in the top of the second by Michael Earley and Martin Medina to take a 2-1 lead. Chris O'Brien singled home Scott Schebler in the bottom of the 2nd to tie the game back at two. But once again, Great Falls took back the lead, getting a RBI single by Michael Earley that scored Kevan Smith. However, a three-run bottom of the inning gave the Raptors another league, 5-3. Great Falls took a 6-5 lead for in the 4th on a Smith 3-run blast off of Juan Noriega that scored Kyle Eveland and Randall Thorpe. That lead lasted until the 5th when Ogden tied the game at seven on a 2-run single by O'Brien. Smith provided his last highlight of the night in seventh, singling home Eveland and giving the Voyagers a lead that was held onto thanks to Blake Drake and Kevin Vance. Drake, picking up the hold, worked two scoreless innings to bridge the gap between the winning pitcher, Stew Brase (1-0) and Kevin Vance (S,1) who closed out the contest. The Voyagers will take on the Raptors in game two at Centene Stadium on Thursday night at 7 p.m.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

View More